Slacker Logo

Grandes Exitos [Two Bonus Tracks]



Among the many fine Juan Luis Guerra albums and compilations released over the decades, there's no better starting point than Grandes Éxitos de Juan Luis Guerra 4.40, which compiles a marvelous array of highlights from the Dominican icon's late-'80s and early-'90s rise to fame. Originally issued in 1995, Grandes Éxitos de Juan Luis Guerra 4.40 has been released in a variety of editions over the years. The cover art and track listings vary on some editions, and a few different bonus tracks were added at one time or another. Regardless of these slight variations, all editions stick with the same time frame and feature the same core set of hit singles and fan favorites. Guerra's career began to peak with his fourth album, Ojalá Que Llueva Café (1989). Three songs from that album ("Visa Para un Sueño," "Ojalá Que Llueva Café," "Woman del Callao") are compiled on Grandes Éxitos de Juan Luis Guerra 4.40. Astonishingly, seven of the ten songs from fifth album Bachata Rosa (1990) are compiled here ("Rosalía," "Como Abeja al Panal," "Carta de Amor," "A Pedir Su Mano," "La Bilirrubina," "Burbujas de Amor," "Bachata Rose"). Since all of these songs are great, it's not really a problem except that it leaves precious little space for material from the successive albums Areíto (1992) and Fogaraté (1994), in particular the hit singles "Señales de Humo," "Coronita de Flores," "Mal de Amor," "Viviré," and "El Beso de la Ciguatera," all of which are missing here. Clearly favoring Guerra's breakout albums Ojalá Que Llueva Café and Bachata Rosa, Grandes Éxitos de Juan Luis Guerra 4.40 may not be the most representative compilation, but there's no question that it's filled with fantastic material and makes for an ideal introduction to Guerra's early classics. [The disc was also released with two bonus tracks: "Señorita" and "La Woman del Callao."] ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 El Costo de la Vida Juan Luis Guerra 4:12
  3. 2 Rosalia Juan Luis Guerra 3:26
  4. 3 Woman del Callao Juan Luis Guerra 4:22
  5. 4 Visa Para un Sueño Juan Luis Guerra 3:29
  6. 5 Burbujas de Amor Juan Luis Guerra 4:8
  7. 6 Ojalá Que Llueva Café Juan Luis Guerra 4:9
  8. 7 Me Enamoro de Ella Juan Luis Guerra 4:17
  9. 8 Frío Frío Juan Luis Guerra 4:3
  10. 9 Como Abeja al Panal Juan Luis Guerra 4:3
  11. 10 A Pedir Su Mano Juan Luis Guerra 4:56
  12. 11 La Bilirrubina Juan Luis Guerra 4:2
  13. 12 Carta de Amor Juan Luis Guerra 4:41
  14. 13 Bachata Rosa Juan Luis Guerra 4:14
  15. 14 Guavaberry Juan Luis Guerra 4:20
  16. 15 La Cosquillita Juan Luis Guerra 3:43
  17. 16 Si Tu Te Vas Juan Luis Guerra 3:52
  18. 17 La Señorita Juan Luis Guerra 4:10

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |