Slacker Logo

Wild Ones [Deluxe]

Kip Moore 8/21/2015


Kip Moore scored three big bro country hits in the two years surrounding 2012 –- "Somethin' 'Bout a Truck" was the 2011 breakthrough, followed by "Beer Money" in 2012 and "Hey Pretty Girl" in 2013 -- but he struggled on the journey to his second album, delivering two singles that, in his words, "stiffed," leading him to scrap an entire LP and write a new record, presumably one that's more commercial. Wild Ones, delivered three years after Up All Night, is that official second record and, as the neon-speckled album cover indicates, it's an album indebted to the '80s and not the hybrid of Hall & Oates and Paul Young suggested by the art, either. Moore plays up his middle-America bona fides, eager to conjure some of the spirit of fellow Springsteen fan Eric Church, but where Church prefers beefy guitars, Moore favors open-road anthems, songs that feel masculine but retain a vulnerable core. Such an emphasis on ballads and deliberate midtempo rockers gives Wild Ones a soft, even hazy touch when compared to the glossy snap of Up All Night, a shift that neatly punctures whatever lingering bro country affections remain in Moore's music. Instead of living for tomorrow's parties, he's rhapsodizing about good times once had in a style that funnels prime Bon Jovi through John Mellencamp. If Kip's songs aren't as hook-heavy or as sticky as his idols, it is nevertheless admirable that he's completely revamped his sound so he doesn't feel like anybody else in contemporary country -- not his bro country peers, not Church, not a red dirt refugee or macho rocker. He's effectively evoked the feel and aesthetic of mid-'80s heartland rock, and if that doesn't necessarily make him a wild one, it does make him a rebel of sorts. [A Deluxe Edition added three bonus tracks.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Wild Ones Kip Moore 3:19
  3. 2 Come and Get It Kip Moore 4:54
  4. 3 Girl of the Summer Kip Moore 3:53
  5. 4 Magic Kip Moore 3:34
  6. 5 That Was Us Kip Moore 3:57
  7. 6 Lipstick Kip Moore 4:16
  8. 7 What Ya Got on Tonight Kip Moore 2:58
  9. 8 Heart's Desire Kip Moore 4:18
  10. 9 Complicated Kip Moore 2:59
  11. 10 I'm to Blame Kip Moore 2:15
  12. 11 That's Alright With Me Kip Moore 3:34
  13. 12 Running for You Kip Moore 3:30
  14. 13 Comeback Kid Kip Moore 3:11
  15. 14 What I Do Kip Moore 3:27
  16. 15 Backseat Kip Moore 3:21
  17. 16 Burn the Whole World Down Kip Moore 4:2

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |