Slacker Logo

Hybrid Theory [Japan Bonus Tracks]

Linkin Park 3/20/2001


Linkin Park originally called itself Hybrid Theory and has retained that phrase for the title of its debut album. The "hybrid" in question is the overly familiar one of rap and metal, to which the group has little new to add. The guitars and drums lock into standard thrash patterns, over which singer Chester Bennington and rapper Mike Shinoda alternate in furious expressions of rage and frustration. "One Step Closer," the track released to radio in advance of the album's release, is a typical effort, with lyrics like "Everything you say to me/Takes me one step closer to the edge/And I'm about to break." It might be easier to believe in all this angst if the group members didn't take such pains to thank their families in the lengthy acknowledgments in the CD booklet, followed by an extensive list of product endorsements. But even without the fine print to undermine its sincerity, Linkin Park sounds like a Johnny-come-lately to an already overdone musical style. [The Japanese import includes two bonus tracks: "My December" and "High Voltage."] ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Papercut Linkin Park 3:5
  3. 2 One Step Closer Linkin Park 2:35
  4. 3 With You Linkin Park 3:22
  5. 4 Points of Authority Linkin Park 3:19
  6. 5 Crawling Linkin Park 3:28
  7. 6 Runaway Linkin Park 3:4
  8. 7 By Myself Linkin Park 3:9
  9. 8 In the End Linkin Park 3:33
  10. 9 A Place for My Head Linkin Park 3:5
  11. 10 Forgotten Linkin Park 3:14
  12. 11 Cure for the Itch Linkin Park 2:33
  13. 12 Pushing Me Away Linkin Park 3:9
  14. 13 My December Linkin Park 4:17
  15. 14 High Voltage Linkin Park 3:43
  16. 15 Papercut (Recorded Live At BBC1) Linkin Park 3:6

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |