Slacker Logo

Hymns [MCA]

Loretta Lynn 11/13/1995


Loretta Lynn's fourth album -- fifth if you count her duet record with Ernest Tubb from earlier in 1965 -- is a collection of Christian songs but, despite the title, the record is actually about evenly divided between traditional church music and what would eventually come to be called contemporary Christian music. The rollicking opening track, "Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven (But Nobody Wants to Die)," biblical verse or no, sounds more like a classic Sun Records rockabilly single, complete with slapback bass and Scotty Moore-style guitar, than anything one would be likely to hear on a Sunday morning. That song is a Lynn original, as is the closing "Where I Learned How to Pray," a sentimental weeper in the classic style. In between, Lynn essays traditional hymns and newer classics of the style like the Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey's immortal "There'll Be Peace in the Valley for Me," the arrangement of which strongly recalls Elvis' hit version. A relative rarity among Lynn's albums, Hymns was reissued by King Records in 1998. ~ Stewart Mason
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven Loretta Lynn 2:23
  3. 2 Where No One Stands Alone Loretta Lynn 2:48
  4. 3 When They Ring Those Golden Bells Loretta Lynn 3:9
  5. 4 Peace in the Valley Loretta Lynn 2:53
  6. 5 If I Could Hear My Mother Pray Again Loretta Lynn 2:17
  7. 6 The Third Man Loretta Lynn 3:26
  8. 7 How Great Thou Art Loretta Lynn 2:57
  9. 8 Old Camp Meetin' Time Loretta Lynn 2:6
  10. 9 When I Hear My Children Pray Loretta Lynn 2:34
  11. 10 In the Sweet By and By Loretta Lynn 2:22
  12. 11 Where I Learned to Pray Loretta Lynn 2:45
  13. 12 I'd Rather Have Jesus Loretta Lynn 2:40

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |