Slacker Logo

Marcia Griffiths and Friends

Marcia Griffiths 10/30/2012


In a decades-long career, Marcia Griffiths has become one of the best-known female reggae artists of all time, scoring hit after hit in a wide range of styles. Griffiths has covered dancehall, doo wop, rocksteady, and a variety of other subgenres of reggae over the years, and part of her versatile nature has always been how open she's been to collaboration and working with guests. Marcia Griffiths and Friends is an almost overwhelming testament to that fact, with 38 duets culled from her enormous discography and featuring a who's who of Jamaican music. Highlights are plentiful, and the songs are all over the spectrum. Griffiths' work with iconic reggae hall-of-famers is some of the most exciting material here, including duets with John Holt, Beres Hammond, and the gorgeous digital rocksteady groove of "Number One" featuring Gregory Isaacs. Dancehall stars like Cutty Ranks, Annette Brissett, Assassin, and Beenie Man make appearances on some of the more fired-up tracks. Buju Banton shows up on no less than five tracks, adding his gruff dancehall character in contrast to Griffiths' smooth and reflective vocals. Busy Signal guests on the inspired "Automatic," a slice of slinky soul-reggae that shows the artists complementing one another's disparate styles with seamless fluidity. Clocking in at well over two hours, this collection is a lot to digest in one sitting, and it's not without a few duds here and there. Half-hearted stabs at '80s soundtrack pop singles like "Knew You Were Waiting for Me" and "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" sound especially hollow and plastic compared to her burning versions of soul tracks like "Oh No Not My Baby" and the more party-starting dancehall tracks. Her duet with Bob Andy on Stevie Wonder's "Ebony & Ivory" sounds especially dated and saccharine as well. Marcia Griffiths and Friends is also absent of any of her late-'60s and early-'70s material, focusing on the higher-fidelity production and more R&B-tinged later recordings. Fans of contemporary reggae will find much to love in this weighty collection, but those enamored with Griffiths' stormier early work might miss the moody production and more organic rhythm tracks. Despite that, the collection is brimming over with more than enough strong selections to make it worthwhile to even the casual reggae fan. ~ Fred Thomas
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Automatic (Keeping It Real) Marcia Griffiths 4:3
  3. 2 I See Love Marcia Griffiths 4:2
  4. 3 Desperate Lover Marcia Griffiths 3:37
  5. 4 Love Is a Treasure [Remix] Marcia Griffiths 3:37
  6. 5 Childish Games Marcia Griffiths 3:54
  7. 6 Dearest Marcia Griffiths 3:20
  8. 7 Just You and Me Marcia Griffiths 3:19
  9. 8 Sense of Purpose Marcia Griffiths 3:28
  10. 9 Knew You Were Waiting for Me Marcia Griffiths 3:48
  11. 10 When the Lights Are Low Marcia Griffiths 4:32
  12. 11 It's Not Too Late Marcia Griffiths 4:34
  13. 12 If You Give Me Your Heart Marcia Griffiths 4:48
  14. 13 Round and Round Marcia Griffiths 4:6
  15. 14 Number One Marcia Griffiths 3:26
  16. 15 Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now Marcia Griffiths 4:34
  17. 16 Riddim Affi Roll Marcia Griffiths 4:5
  18. 17 Oh No Not My Baby Marcia Griffiths 3:27
  19. 18 Loving Jah Marcia Griffiths 3:30
  20. 19 Want Love Marcia Griffiths 3:48
  21. 1 Stand by Your Man Marcia Griffiths 3:46
  22. 2 If Only You Knew Marcia Griffiths 4:19
  23. 3 All of My Life Marcia Griffiths 3:23
  24. 4 Undying Love Marcia Griffiths 3:41
  25. 5 A True Marcia Griffiths 3:7
  26. 6 Woman Marcia Griffiths 4:3
  27. 7 Check It Out Marcia Griffiths 4:3
  28. 8 Half Idiot Marcia Griffiths 4:7
  29. 9 Things Not So Right Marcia Griffiths 3:55
  30. 10 Live On Beres Hammond 3:37
  31. 11 Closer Marcia Griffiths 3:54
  32. 12 Really Together Marcia Griffiths 3:59
  33. 13 Give Me Your Loving Marcia Griffiths 3:56
  34. 14 It's Not Funny Marcia Griffiths 4:23
  35. 15 Special Gift Marcia Griffiths 3:59
  36. 16 Ebony & Ivory Marcia Griffiths 3:28
  37. 17 Stepping Out of Babylon Marcia Griffiths 4:19
  38. 18 What About That Marcia Griffiths 3:39
  39. 19 Ready to Go Tony Rebel 4:0

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |