Slacker Logo

The 9 Volt Years: Battery Powered Home Demos & Curios



Far from the collection of scraps and throw-aways its humble title would suggest, The 9 Volt Years: Battery Powered Home Demos & Curios (1979-198?) is instead a showcase for Marshall Crenshaw at his most engaging and refreshing. Whereas some of his studio LPs have suffered from overproduction, the bare-bones ambience of these 15 cuts -- home recordings, live performances, and the stray studio date -- allows his songs' melodic smarts and impeccable craftsmanship to truly shine. Familiar tracks like "Someday, Someway," "Rockin' Around in NYC," and "Vague Memory" are dramatically revitalized in these spartan settings, while lost gems like "Run Back to You," "Everyone's in Love with You," and the classic B-side "You're My Favorite Waste of Time" assume their rightful place alongside Crenshaw's best work. The end result is not only a must-have for fans, but also an ideal introduction to one of the best singer/songwriters around, captured here at his purest, loosest, and most honest. ~ Jason Ankeny
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Run Back to You Marshall Crenshaw 2:29
  3. 2 Someday Someway Marshall Crenshaw 2:31
  4. 3 Bad Luck Marshall Crenshaw 3:16
  5. 4 Stay Fabulous Marshall Crenshaw 2:27
  6. 5 Everyone's in Love with You Marshall Crenshaw 2:23
  7. 6 You're My Favorite Waste of Time Marshall Crenshaw 2:56
  8. 7 Vague Memory Marshall Crenshaw 3:18
  9. 8 Bruce Is King Marshall Crenshaw 3:52
  10. 9 That's It, I Quit, I'm Movin' On Marshall Crenshaw 2:48
  11. 10 She's Not You Marshall Crenshaw 2:47
  12. 11 The Thrill of the Fight Marshall Crenshaw 0:10
  13. 12 First Love Marshall Crenshaw 2:20
  14. 13 Something's Gonna Happen Marshall Crenshaw 1:57
  15. 14 I'm Sorry Marshall Crenshaw 2:22
  16. 15 Rockin' Around in NYC Marshall Crenshaw 2:50

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |