Slacker Logo

Compact Jazz: Mel Torme

Mel Tormé 10/25/1990


Having led the sugary, post-war vocal group the Mel-Tones and subsequently been saddled with the "Velvet Fog" moniker, Mel Tormé probably found it hard to prove he was a legitimate vocal talent. This fine compilation from Verve should help clear the air for those still in doubt. Comprised of songs from Tormé's prime period of 1958-1961, Compact Jazz: Mel Torme spotlights the singer's impeccable phrasing and wide vocal range on 16 topnotch cuts. Showing range in taste as well, Tormé enlivens both old standards like "Body and Soul" and (for the time) modern jazz material such as Thelonious Monk's "'Round Midnight." And along big-band lines, Tormé veers toward the rarefied with obscure gems like Count Basie's "Blue and Sentimental" and Ivie Anderson's classic Ellington vocal "Truckin'." Getting back to more progressive fare, Compact Jazz also includes four top examples of Tormé's work with West Coast bebop arranger Marty Paich, including "Too Close for Comfort" and "Whatever Lola Wants." Not to stop there, the disc features four stunning Tormé originals in "Stranger in Town," "Welcome to the Club," "Born to be Blue," and the holiday favorite "The Christmas Song." And with arranger Johnny Mandel adding his very valuable two cents plus a cameo by the Mel-Tones thrown in for good measure, this collection qualifies as a great introduction to Tormé's music. ~ Stephen Cook
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Too Close for Comfort Mel Tormé 4:1
  3. 2 A Stranger in Town Mel Tormé 2:51
  4. 3 Don't Get Around Much Anymore Mel Tormé 2:29
  5. 4 Body and Soul Mel Tormé 3:34
  6. 5 The Surrey With the Fringe on Top Mel Tormé 2:57
  7. 6 Welcome to the Club Mel Tormé 3:58
  8. 7 Sent for You Yesterday (And Here You Come Today) Mel Tormé 2:48
  9. 8 Truckin' Mel Tormé 3:30
  10. 9 Born to Be Blue Mel Tormé 2:50
  11. 10 Whatever Lola Wants Mel Tormé 3:18
  12. 11 'Round Midnight Mel Tormé 3:12
  13. 12 Take the "A" Train Mel Tormé 2:51
  14. 13 Blue Moon Mel Tormé 3:40
  15. 14 Just in Time Mel Tormé 3:24
  16. 15 Blue and Sentimental Mel Tormé 3:52
  17. 16 The Christmas Song Mel Tormé 2:43

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |