Slacker Logo

Romance on Film/Romance on Broadway

Michael Feinstein 10/10/2000


Romantic inspiration can be found in many places, but song stylist Michael Feinstein finds his in motion picture film scores and Broadway musicals on his third Concord Jazz release. Romance on Film/Romance on Broadway is a two-CD set filled with great romantic ballads such as "The More I See You," "The Second Time Around," "All the Way," and the enduring classic "When I Fall in Love." Feinstein's voice is alluring, sophisticated, and comfortable on this excellent collection of popular music that he interprets in so many heartfelt ways. He adds an additional set of lyrics written by Lorenz Hart on "Isn't It Romantic" that were never included in the original 1932 film Love Me Tonight. On the second disc, he places the emphasis on songs from Broadway musicals with the same sensitive phrasing, nuance, and romanticism. "I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face" is a harmonic masterpiece. His dreamy reminisces of the heroine from the landmark Broadway musical My Fair Lady also offers superb piano stylings from Alan Broadbent. One of the most romantic love songs on the collection is "As Long as She Needs Me." Feinstein's amorous interpretation of the lyrics reveals the true beauty of this great love song. Accompanied by such great musicians as Marian McPartland on piano, Bucky Pizzarelli on guitar, Gary Foster on alto saxophone, Peter Erskine on drums, and Chuck Berghofer on bass, among others, Michael Feinstein takes these songs to a different time and space that is sure to keep lovers of romantic ballads happy for some time to come. ~ Paula Edelstein
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 The More I See You Michael Feinstein 6:16
  3. 2 The Second Time Around Michael Feinstein 5:33
  4. 3 As Time Goes By Michael Feinstein 6:29
  5. 4 Isn't It Romantic? Michael Feinstein 4:45
  6. 5 All The Way Michael Feinstein 5:19
  7. 6 Something's Gotta Give Michael Feinstein 5:7
  8. 7 The Way You Look Tonight Michael Feinstein 7:29
  9. 8 Long Ago And Far Away Michael Feinstein 5:40
  10. 9 When I Fall In Love/My Foolish Heart Michael Feinstein 6:25
  11. 10 How Do You Keep The Music Playing? Michael Feinstein 5:22
  12. 11 Always Michael Feinstein 6:3
  13. 12 I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face Michael Feinstein 5:4
  14. 13 If This Isn't Love Michael Feinstein 3:38
  15. 14 They Say It's Wonderful Michael Feinstein 4:18
  16. 15 I've Never Been In Love Before Michael Feinstein 2:52
  17. 16 As Long As She Needs Me Michael Feinstein 4:36
  18. 17 The Song Is You Michael Feinstein 4:9
  19. 18 Darn That Dream Michael Feinstein 5:56
  20. 19 The Best Things In Life Are Free Michael Feinstein 4:44
  21. 20 My Funny Valentine Michael Feinstein 4:56
  22. 21 Taking A Chance On Love Michael Feinstein 3:57
  23. 22 Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye Michael Feinstein 4:2

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |