Slacker Logo

Miss E...So Addictive [Bonus Tracks]



Sounding more assured of her various strengths than at any time since her startling debut, Missy "Misdemeanor" Elliott broke in several directions for 2001's Miss E...So Addictive. At the same time, she's a sexed-up rapper demanding respect from men, a loved-up club diva leading the charge of rappers into the brave new world of dance culture, and a sensitive female spreading syrup over a few great ballads. It's a tribute to her incredible songwriting skills and Timbaland's continuing production excellence that she can have it any way she wants it and still come away with a full-length that hangs together brilliantly. She definitely starts out hardcore, with a pair of self-explanatory titles ("Dog in Heat," "One Minute Man") featuring Elliott cooling down on a trio of rappers (Redman, Method Man, Ludacris) and definitely getting the best of them. By "Get Ur Freak On," the lead single, she's changed angles and become a new-millennium diva straddling the worlds of hip-hop and commercial dance with bumping club tracks like "Scream a.k.a. Itch" and "4 My People." But before listeners can reconcile Elliott the club kid, special guest Ginuwine takes the album into love-ballad territory with "Take Away," a half-step ballad with an irresistible plucked-string production from Timbaland. Though Miss E...So Addictive is undeniably Elliott's affair, Timbaland's production really stretches out and pulls the album together. He's less reliant on his oft-copied trademarks, and more willing to experiment with left-field samples and seemingly odd bridges that always work despite the audio high-wire act. Though it fails to come up with anything to top her big singles hit, "The Rain (Supa Dupa Fly)," Miss E...So Addictive is her best album so far. ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 ...So Addictive Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 0:53
  3. 2 Dog in Heat Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 5:1
  4. 3 One Minute Man Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 4:13
  5. 4 Lick Shots Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 3:51
  6. 5 Get Ur Freak On Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 3:30
  7. 6 Scream A.K.A. Itchin' Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 3:55
  8. 7 Old School Joint Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 3:59
  9. 8 Take Away Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 4:56
  10. 9 4 My People Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 4:46
  11. 10 Bus-A-Bus (Interlude) Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 1:10
  12. 11 Whatcha Gon' Do Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 3:14
  13. 12 Step Off Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 3:57
  14. 13 X-Tasy Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 3:34
  15. 14 Slap! Slap! Slap! Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 4:4
  16. 15 I've Changed (Interlude) Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 1:6
  17. 16 One Minute Man [Remix] Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 4:34
  18. 17 Higher Ground (Prelude) Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 4:59
  19. 18 Higher Ground Missy Misdemeanor Elliott 1:45

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |