Slacker Logo

The Moon & Antarctica [Bonus Tracks]

Modest Mouse 3/9/2004


Modest Mouse's Epic debut, The Moon & Antarctica, finds them strangely subdued, focusing on mortality as well as the moody, acoustic side of their music and downplaying the edgy, spastic rock that helped make them indie stars. Not that their first major-label release sounds like a sellout -- actually, the slight sheen of Brian Deck's production enhances the album's introspective tone -- but occasionally The Moon & Antarctica's melancholy becomes ponderous. Unfortunately, the album's middle stretch contains three such songs, "The Cold Part," "Alone Down There," and "The Stars Are Projectors," which tend to blur together into one 17-minute-long piece that bogs down the album's momentum. Individually, each of these songs is sweeping and haunting in its own right, but grouping them together blunts their impact. However, this trilogy does provide a sharp contrast to, as well as a bridge across, The Moon & Antarctica's more vibrant beginning and end. Though it explores death and the afterlife, The Moon & Antarctica's liveliest moments are its most effective. "3rd Planet"'s simple, ramshackle melody and strange, moving lyrics ("Your heart felt good"), the elastic guitars on "Gravity Rides Everything," and the angular, jumpy "Tiny Cities Made of Ashes" and "A Different City" get the album off to a strong start, while the fresh, unaffected "Wild Packs of Family Dogs," "Paper Thin Walls," and "Lives" bring it to an atmospheric, affecting peak before "What People Are Made Of" closes the album with a climactic burst of noise. Their most cohesive collection of songs to date, The Moon & Antarctica is an impressive, if flawed, map of Modest Mouse's ambitions and fears. [The 2004 reissue has been remastered and features BBC performances of "3rd Planet," "Perfect Disguise," and "Tiny Cities Made of Ashes," as well as an instrumental version of "Custom Concern" from This Is a Long Drive for Someone With Nothing to Think About.] ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 3rd Planet Modest Mouse 3:58
  3. 2 Gravity Rides Everything Modest Mouse 4:18
  4. 3 Dark Center of the Universe Modest Mouse 5:2
  5. 4 Perfect Disguise Modest Mouse 2:41
  6. 5 Tiny Cities Made of Ashes Modest Mouse 3:42
  7. 6 A Different City Modest Mouse 3:8
  8. 7 The Cold Part Modest Mouse 5:1
  9. 8 Alone Down There Modest Mouse 2:23
  10. 9 The Stars Are Projectors Modest Mouse 8:44
  11. 10 Wild Packs of Family Dogs Modest Mouse 1:44
  12. 11 Paper Thin Walls Modest Mouse 3:1
  13. 12 I Came as a Rat Modest Mouse 3:47
  14. 13 Lives Modest Mouse 3:16
  15. 14 Life Like Weeds Modest Mouse 6:30
  16. 15 What People Are Made Of Modest Mouse 2:13
  17. 16 3rd Planet [BBC Radio 1 Session Version][Radio Edit] Modest Mouse 4:0
  18. 17 Perfect Disguise [BBC Radio 1 Session Version] Modest Mouse 2:59
  19. 18 Custom Concern [BBC Radio 1 Session Version][Instrumental] Modest Mouse 1:59
  20. 19 Tiny Cities Made of Ashes [BBC Radio 1 Session Version] Modest Mouse 3:8

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |