Slacker Logo

The Dirt [Official Soundtrack]

Mötley Crüe 3/22/2019


Biopic The Dirt tells the story of Mötley Crüe's wild ride through their time as one of the most popular and most debaucherous bands of the metal years. During a blistering run that lasted the entirety of the '80s, the L.A. band sold millions of records, toured the world, and challenged death constantly with reckless behavior, substance abuse, and the kind of mayhem that sometimes seems like it only existed in the time when hair metal reigned. Some of these misadventures were collected in the 2001 book The Dirt, and the 2019 film adaptation of the book further dramatizes some of the group's already unbelievable antics, as well as getting into the music that made it all happen. The soundtrack to the film is made up entirely of music by Mötley Crüe, but in addition to 14 selections from their early catalog, they recorded four entirely new tracks in 2018 especially for inclusion in the film. Rapper Machine Gun Kelly (who plays the role of drummer Tommy Lee in the film) features on the song "The Dirt (Est. 1981)," dropping a rapped coda about tattoos, girls, cars, and the rock & roll lifestyle into the song's pop-metal framework. Huge, hooky choruses were part of the Crüe's formula for success in the '80s, and they don't shy away from that formula here, either. In addition to two other new songs, "Crash and Burn" and "Ride with the Devil," the band offer an unlikely cover in the form of Madonna's 1984 smash hit "Like a Virgin." Die-hard metalheads might scoff at the idea of a band synonymous with '80s metal decadence taking a stab at one of the decade's most commercial artists, but 35 years later the context of the song (and of all the musicians in the equation, for that matter) has shifted to the point where the cover can be taken at face value. It's a revved-up version of an undeniably catchy song, delivered with an extra dose of menace and possibly a self-aware smirk at how ridiculous it is. The Dirt soundtrack pairs the nostalgia of well-loved favorites ("Home Sweet Home," "Kickstart My Heart," "Shout at the Devil") with the reinvigorated excitement of the raw newer songs for a collection that feels more like a companion to the film than a greatest-hits repackaging. ~ Fred Thomas
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 The Dirt (Est. 1981) Mötley Crüe 3:51
  3. 2 Red Hot Mötley Crüe 3:21
  4. 3 On With the Show Mötley Crüe 4:2
  5. 4 Live Wire Mötley Crüe 3:14
  6. 5 Merry-Go-Round Mötley Crüe 3:20
  7. 6 Take Me to the Top Mötley Crüe 3:43
  8. 7 Piece of Your Action Mötley Crüe 4:39
  9. 8 Shout at the Devil Mötley Crüe 3:13
  10. 9 Looks That Kill Mötley Crüe 4:7
  11. 10 Too Young to Fall in Love Mötley Crüe 3:28
  12. 11 Home Sweet Home Mötley Crüe 3:57
  13. 12 Girls, Girls, Girls Mötley Crüe 4:28
  14. 13 Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.) Mötley Crüe 4:12
  15. 14 Kickstart My Heart Mötley Crüe 4:42
  16. 15 Dr. Feelgood Mötley Crüe 4:48
  17. 16 Ride With the Devil Mötley Crüe 3:39
  18. 17 Crash and Burn Mötley Crüe 4:12
  19. 18 Like a Virgin Mötley Crüe 3:6

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |