Slacker Logo

The Greatest Hits [Bonus Tracks]


Other albums by Mott the Hoople

  1. Mad Shadows
  2. Wildlife
  3. All the Young Dudes
  4. Mott
  5. The Hoople
Mott the Hoople 4/15/2003


The Best of Mott the Hoople is actually a retitled version of the 1975 compilation Greatest Hits. The tracks are exactly the same, and in the same sequence, with the addition of two bonus cuts, "Sweet Jane" and "One of the Boys," tacked on to the end (as well as new liner notes). This is a good sampling of the band's most familiar material, but it's not exactly a career-spanning overview; all of the cuts are taken from their Columbia period, which means there's nothing from what they did at Atlantic prior to 1972. Still, it does have the songs you'd expect from such a survey, among them all seven of their British chart singles, including "All the Way from Memphis," "All the Young Dudes," "Roll Away the Stone," and "The Golden Age of Rock & Roll." [Sbme Special MKTS reissued a bonus track edition of the album in 2008.] ~ Richie Unterberger
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 All the Way from Memphis Mott the Hoople 3:22
  3. 2 Honaloochie Boogie Mott the Hoople 2:40
  4. 3 Hymn for the Dudes Mott the Hoople 5:20
  5. 4 Born Late '58 Mott the Hoople 3:56
  6. 5 All the Young Dudes Mott the Hoople 3:30
  7. 6 Roll Away the Stone Mott the Hoople 3:10
  8. 7 Ballad of Mott the Hoople (26th March 1972, Zürich) Mott the Hoople 5:19
  9. 8 Golden Age of Rock & Roll Mott the Hoople 3:24
  10. 9 Foxy Foxy Mott the Hoople 3:27
  11. 10 Saturday Gigs Mott the Hoople 4:17
  12. 11 Sweet Jane Mott the Hoople 4:19
  13. 12 One of the Boys Mott the Hoople 2:46

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |