Slacker Logo

Compact Jazz: Nina Simone

Nina Simone 9/19/1989


When Nina Simone was in her prime as the premier African-American singer/pianist in music, there's was no popular artist who was going to touch her in terms of sheer talent. This Compact Jazz collection of 16 of her songs falls short of a greatest-hits package, as it is missing some evergreens like "I Loves You, Porgy" and "I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl," among others. Still, it's a good cross section of her ballads, blues, jazz interpretations, and strong-willed protest and statement songs. Included are classics "My Baby Just Cares for Me," "Brown Eyed Handsome Man," "Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair," "Mood Indigo," her eerie version of "Strange Fruit," the atypical string-laden and dour "I Put a Spell on You," and "Sinner Man." It's a pretty solid collection considering what is left out, and a very good introduction to her large and diverse discography. ~ Michael G. Nastos
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 My Baby Just Cares for Me Nina Simone 2:59
  3. 2 Feeling Good Nina Simone 2:52
  4. 3 He Ain't Comin' Home No More Nina Simone 3:10
  5. 4 Brown Eyed Handsome Man Nina Simone 2:2
  6. 5 If I Should Lose You Nina Simone 3:57
  7. 6 Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair Nina Simone 3:24
  8. 7 The Gal from Joe's Nina Simone 2:42
  9. 8 Don't Explain Nina Simone 4:17
  10. 9 Keeper of the Flame Nina Simone 3:21
  11. 10 Mood Indigo Nina Simone 2:24
  12. 11 Tell Me More and More and Then Some Nina Simone 3:6
  13. 12 Strange Fruit Nina Simone 3:28
  14. 13 Chilly Winds Don't Blow Nina Simone 4:0
  15. 14 I'm Going Back Home Nina Simone 2:47
  16. 15 I Put a Spell on You Nina Simone 2:33
  17. 16 Sinner Man Nina Simone 10:16

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |