Slacker Logo

Dukes of Hazzard [Original Soundtrack]


Other albums by



Pop culture fans probably would've liked this set to include Waylon Jennings' original television theme, but Willie Nelson's autopilot remake is probably satisfactory for this broad and snickering, nostalgia-aping film adaptation. Disregarding Jessica Simpson's insultingly horrible rendition of "These Boots Are Made for Walkin'" -- it doesn't even sound like music, it's just blips and sliced-up fiddles behind Simpson's feathery nothing of a lead vocal -- the Dukes of Hazzard soundtrack is an enjoyable, if somewhat obvious collection of Southern rock and AOR staples that takes the occasional country or left-field detour. "Call Me the Breeze" fulfills its Skynyrd quota, as does the James Gang's "Funk #49" for classic rock. The prideful country -- rock of the Charlie Daniels Band's "South's Gonna Do It Again" is a more novel choice, and the big dumb stomp of Ram Jam's 1977 novelty "Black Betty'" will probably never get old, and it doesn't here. (Note: Dukes includes the non-radio-edit version; it includes an Edgar Winter-like guitar breakdown.) "Hillbilly Shoes" is Montgomery Gentry's 1999 country radio breakthrough, and Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble's "Pride and Joy" is perfect for those scenes of Daisy Duke tending bar. A more unlikely inclusion is "Change My Mind" from the Blueskins, Wakefield England young'uns who rip like Yardbirds revivalists. The Blues Explosion gets in on the act too, contributing "Burn It Off" from 2004's Damage. Dukes of Hazzard is also bookended by jokes from Nelson's Uncle Jessie. ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Uncle Jesse Tells a Joke 0:10
  3. 2 These Boots Are Made for Walkin' [Cover] Jessica Simpson 3:58
  4. 3 One Way Out The Allman Brothers Band 4:54
  5. 4 Pride and Joy Stevie Ray Vaughan 3:37
  6. 5 Call Me the Breeze Lynyrd Skynyrd 5:7
  7. 6 The South's Gonna Do It Again The Charlie Daniels Band 3:57
  8. 7 Flirtin' with Disaster Molly Hatchet 4:57
  9. 8 Hillbilly Shoes Montgomery Gentry 3:12
  10. 9 Black Betty Ram Jam 3:56
  11. 10 Soul City Southern Culture on the Skids 2:35
  12. 11 Change My Mind The Blueskins 2:30
  13. 12 Burn It Off The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion 2:52
  14. 13 Funk #49 James Gang 3:47
  15. 14 Good Ol' Boys [Theme from the Dukes of Hazzard] Willie Nelson 2:24
  16. 15 Uncle Jesse Tells Another Joke 0:12

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |