Slacker Logo

Songs and Artists That Inspired Fahrenheit 9/11


Other albums by



The concept behind Songs and Artists That Inspired Fahrenheit 9/11 is pretty straightforward -- gather behind the politically-minded artists who, as the liner notes state, "Michael Moore listened to as he created the motion picture Fahrenheit 9/11." This claim likely bends the truth a little bit -- something that shouldn't be much of a problem for Moore, come to think of it -- because there are previously unreleased songs here by Rage Against the Machine members Zack de la Rocha (a Trent Reznor co-produced solo track called "We Want It All" that doesn't really go anywhere) and "Tom Morello" ("No One Left," a Dylanesque acoustic song performed under the name "the Nightwatchman", that doesn't really go anywhere either), and Steve Earle's "The Revolution Starts Now" was released two months after the movie. But hey, that's nit-picking, isn't it? What this is a collection of protest rock and folk from the familiar suspects -- Little Steven Van Zandt, Springsteen, John Fogerty, the Clash, Pearl Jam, Dixie Chicks, Nanci Griffith, System of a Down -- plus Black Eyed Peas. As an album, it holds together better than the official Fahrenheit 9/11 soundtrack, but it's hard to believe that the target audience doesn't already have Bruce singing "Chimes of Freedom," Dylan's "With God on Our Side" or the Clash's "Know Your Rights." But if they don't, this is a pretty good sampler of political rock and folk. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I Am a Patriot (And the River Opens for the Righteous) Little Steven & the Disciples of Soul 3:29
  3. 2 Chimes of Freedom Bruce Springsteen 5:54
  4. 3 With God on Our Side Bob Dylan 7:4
  5. 4 We Want It All Zack de la Rocha 4:7
  6. 5 Boom! System of a Down 2:15
  7. 6 No One Left The Nightwatchman 4:18
  8. 7 Masters of War Pearl Jam 5:30
  9. 8 Travelin' Soldier Dixie Chicks 5:43
  10. 9 Fortunate Son John Fogerty 3:13
  11. 10 Know Your Rights The Clash 3:41
  12. 11 The Revolution Starts Now Steve Earle 4:24
  13. 12 Where Is the Love? Black Eyed Peas 3:48
  14. 13 Good Night, New York Nanci Griffith 4:20
  15. 14 Hallelujah [Cover] Jeff Buckley 6:54

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |