Slacker Logo

Every Home Should Have One



The talented Patti Austin launched a successful jazz album career on CTI by the mid-'70s. Working with Quincy Jones since 1976, Every Home Should Have One was her long-awaited solo album with Jones as a producer. The hit singles "Do You Love Me" and "Every Home Should Have One" are polished -- pleasing but derivative. Rod Temperton -- who did four songs here, including the smooth "The Genie" -- comes up with a true gem, the classic Austin and James Ingram duet "Baby Come to Me." The most telling aspect of Every Home Should Have One isn't the L.A. pop/R&B Austin could do standing on her head, it's the most meditative offerings. A cover of Thom Bell and Linda Creed's "Stop, Look and Listen" gets an effortless treatment. The album-closing "The Island," with music from Ivan Lins and Vitor Martins and lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman, seems best suited for Austin as she gives a sensual and flawless reading. Every Home Should Have One doesn't possess Quincy Jones' all-encompassing production style of albums like The Dude and George Benson's Give Me the Night. While this seems like a debut album, it's far from it, but it's a perfect introduction to Austin and her more pop-orientated work. ~ Jason Elias
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Do You Love Me Patti Austin 3:21
  3. 2 Love Me to Death Patti Austin 4:7
  4. 3 The Way I Feel Patti Austin 4:16
  5. 4 Every Home Should Have One Patti Austin 3:25
  6. 5 Baby, Come to Me Patti Austin 3:34
  7. 6 The Genie Patti Austin 3:55
  8. 7 Stop, Look, Listen (To Your Heart) Patti Austin 3:5
  9. 8 Symphony of Love Patti Austin 3:38
  10. 9 Oh No, Margarita Patti Austin 3:50
  11. 10 The Island Patti Austin 3:44

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |