Slacker Logo

The Essential Patti LaBelle

Patti LaBelle 6/10/2008


The third and most adventurous double-disc Patti LaBelle compilation released within the several previous years, following 2004's Philadelphia International-centric Anthology (released through The Right Stuff) and 2005's wide-ranging Gold (Hip-O), The Essential Patti LaBelle features a surprising amount of '70s material, a fair portion of which comes from her often overlooked work with the group LaBelle (who just happened to be prepping a new album at the time of this set's release). A fifth of the material here comes from the LaBelle albums Moon Shadow, Pressure Cookin', Nightbirds, Phoenix, and Chameleon, and it helps prove that there was much more to them than the proto-disco classic "Lady Marmalade" (included here). The set spans nearly four decades, from an alternate version of 1962's "I Sold My Heart to the Junkman" (with the Bluebelles) through 1997's Jam & Lewis-produced "When You Talk About Love." There's some previously unreleased material as well, including a Gamble & Huff-produced "Mean Ol' Man's World" and a disco mix of Released's "Release (The Tension)." Most of the major hits are here, solo and otherwise, including the Black Singles/R&B Top Ten hits "What Can I Do for You?," "If Only You Knew," "New Attitude," and the Michael McDonald duet "On My Own." ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 If Only You Knew Patti LaBelle 4:45
  3. 2 Love, Need and Want You Patti LaBelle 5:0
  4. 3 If You Don't Know Me by Now Patti LaBelle 8:12
  5. 4 The Best Is Yet to Come Patti LaBelle 5:56
  6. 5 The Spirit's In It Patti LaBelle 5:50
  7. 6 New Attitude Patti LaBelle 4:32
  8. 7 On My Own Patti LaBelle 4:50
  9. 8 When You Talk About Love Patti LaBelle 5:32
  10. 9 My Love, Sweet Love [From Waiting to Exhale] Patti LaBelle 4:20
  11. 10 Somebody Loves You Baby (You Know Who It Is) Patti LaBelle 4:50
  12. 11 Down the Aisle (The Wedding Song) Patti Labelle & the Bluebelles 3:31
  13. 12 The Bells Patti LaBelle 2:54
  14. 13 Last Dance [Previously Unreleased] Patti LaBelle 4:25
  15. 14 Moon Shadow Patti LaBelle 9:22
  16. 15 I Sold My Heart to the Junkman [Alternate Take][Alternate Version] Patti LaBelle 1:57
  17. 1 Lady Marmalade Patti LaBelle 3:55
  18. 2 What Can I Do for You? Patti LaBelle 3:59
  19. 3 You Turn Me On Patti LaBelle 4:35
  20. 4 Open Up Your Heart Patti LaBelle 3:25
  21. 5 Messin' with My Mind Patti LaBelle 4:34
  22. 6 Isn't It a Shame Patti LaBelle 7:56
  23. 7 Joy to Have Your Love Patti LaBelle 5:41
  24. 8 You Are My Friend Patti LaBelle 4:37
  25. 9 It's Alright with Me Patti LaBelle 4:15
  26. 10 Music Is My Way of Life Patti LaBelle 8:7
  27. 11 Release (The Tension) [Disco Version][Previously Unreleased] Patti LaBelle 6:44
  28. 12 Over the Rainbow Patti LaBelle 3:46
  29. 13 Come What May Patti LaBelle 4:6
  30. 14 Love Has Finally Come Patti LaBelle 5:36
  31. 15 Mean Ol' Man's World [Previously Unreleased] Patti LaBelle 4:16

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |