Slacker Logo

Hardcastle 5 [Circuit City Exclusive]

Paul Hardcastle 25//2008


With the release in Japan of The Jazzmasters featuring vocalist Helen Rogers in 1991, English composer and synth master Paul Hardcastle introduced a fresh hybrid of jazz and dance music that became an international phenomenon over the next decade and a half. The first Jazzmasters disc received the NARM Bestselling Jazz Recording award and is one of the best-selling independent jazz records of all time; it stayed on Billboard's Contemporary Jazz chart for over a year. Alternating his annual output between five electronic-inflected Jazzmasters recordings and four previous albums released as Hardcastle, Hardcastle 2, etc., the multifaceted artist -- whose worldwide sales top 11 million -- has amassed a total of seven number one contemporary jazz hits. Hardcastle 5 is another cool, low-key, sensual urban pop-jazz delight, whose melodies, atmospheres, and easy grooves make it perfect background makeout music. There are a few touches of deeper exotica that create a nice balance and catch the ears between moods, most notably "Marimba," which finds Hardcastle approximating the sound of that instrument. Hardcastle 5 is notable for introducing to his legion of fans two new and important performers. Soulful, ethereal vocalist Beki lends her dreaminess to the four tracks she co-wrote with Hardcastle, including the thoughtful, slightly melancholy "Don't You Know" and the super-sexy "Closer," which fans of the similarly toned Robin Thicke could surely eat up. The last track proudly introduces 16-year-old saxophonist Paul Hardcastle, Jr. into the mix with the younger musician's first recorded composition, "Take 1," which sounds incredibly sophisticated for a track recorded as a demo in his bedroom! The younger Hardcastle keeps the flow sweet and seductive, offering promise for an eventual solo career as a smooth jazz artist. While Hardcastle 5 isn't breaking any real new ground for Paul Hardcastle, it's still a splendid addition to the catalog. [Hardcastle 5 was also made available in a Circuit City Exclusive edition.] ~ Jonathan Widran
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 In the Beginning Paul Hardcastle 1:27
  3. 2 Lucky Star Paul Hardcastle 3:46
  4. 3 Don't You Know Paul Hardcastle 5:35
  5. 4 Marimba Paul Hardcastle 3:50
  6. 5 Closer Paul Hardcastle 4:51
  7. 6 Return of the Rainman Paul Hardcastle 8:44
  8. 7 Blew My Mind Paul Hardcastle 6:8
  9. 8 Constellation of Dreams Paul Hardcastle 5:0
  10. 9 Don't You Know, Pt. 2 Paul Hardcastle 5:5
  11. 10 Keep Movin On Paul Hardcastle 4:24
  12. 11 Revival Paul Hardcastle 3:53
  13. 12 Till the Next Time Paul Hardcastle 1:20
  14. 13 Take 1 Paul Hardcastle 3:57

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |