Slacker Logo

Popart: The Hits 1985-2003



Looking back at the 20 years since Neil Tennant left England's Smash Hits magazine to form the Pet Shop Boys with Chris Lowe, the two-CD Popart opens itself up for arguments while surpassing 1991's Discography as the ready-to-wear selection. All the growing up and becoming more emotionally focused that the duo did post-Discography could have yielded a dour hits collection, but putting new tracks like the plaintive "I Get Along" between the slick chestnuts "West End Girls" and "So Hard" works to the listener's advantage. The tropical and wistful "Single-Bilingual" and the clever and melancholy "You Only Tell Me You Love Me When You're Drunk" add more latter-day treasures that Discography couldn't include, and the only thing left to do besides submit is argue about the details. There is one disc full of "Pop" moments and the other "Art," but just try to figure out the criteria. The two new songs (the austere electro of "Miracles" and the fair "Flamboyant") are nice enough, but they're not as fully formed as their surroundings, making them obvious late additions. A little bit of text and history in the liner notes would have helped, and fans should be aware that most of the tracks here appear in album versions rather than single mixes. Of course, compilers need to make decisions, and bookending the collection with the ultra-camp and semi-flippant covers of "Go West" and "Somewhere" could be seen as a comment on how listeners shouldn't worry so much and should just enjoy. Regardless of omissions and decisions, Popart is an excellent, hang-together listen and a better representation of the duo's career than Discography. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Go West Pet Shop Boys 5:0
  3. 2 Suburbia [Video Mix] Pet Shop Boys 5:8
  4. 3 Se a Vida E (That's the Way Life Is) Pet Shop Boys 3:59
  5. 4 What Have I Done to Deserve This? Pet Shop Boys 4:16
  6. 5 Always on My Mind [Cover] Pet Shop Boys 3:56
  7. 6 I Wouldn't Normally Do This Kind of Thing Pet Shop Boys 4:43
  8. 7 Home and Dry Pet Shop Boys 3:56
  9. 8 Heart Pet Shop Boys 3:54
  10. 9 Miracles Pet Shop Boys 3:53
  11. 10 Love Comes Quickly Pet Shop Boys 4:17
  12. 11 It's a Sin Pet Shop Boys 4:58
  13. 12 Domino Dancing Pet Shop Boys 4:16
  14. 13 Before Pet Shop Boys 4:4
  15. 14 New York City Boy Pet Shop Boys 3:18
  16. 15 It's Alright Pet Shop Boys 4:17
  17. 16 Where the Streets Have No Name/I Can't Take My Eyes Off You Pet Shop Boys 4:29
  18. 17 A Red Letter Day Pet Shop Boys 4:28
  19. 1 Left to My Own Devices Pet Shop Boys 4:45
  20. 2 I Don't Know What You Want But I Can't Give It Any More Pet Shop Boys 4:23
  21. 3 Flamboyant Pet Shop Boys 3:47
  22. 4 Being Boring Pet Shop Boys 6:49
  23. 5 Can You Forgive Her? Pet Shop Boys 3:53
  24. 6 West End Girls Pet Shop Boys 4:2
  25. 7 I Get Along Pet Shop Boys 4:10
  26. 8 So Hard Pet Shop Boys 3:59
  27. 9 Rent Pet Shop Boys 3:32
  28. 10 Jealousy Pet Shop Boys 4:13
  29. 11 DJ Culture Pet Shop Boys 4:19
  30. 12 You Only Tell Me You Love Me When You're Drunk Pet Shop Boys 3:12
  31. 13 Liberation Pet Shop Boys 4:4
  32. 14 Paninaro '95 Pet Shop Boys 4:7
  33. 15 Opportunities (Let's Make Lots of Money) Pet Shop Boys 3:44
  34. 16 Yesterday, When I Was Mad Pet Shop Boys 3:58
  35. 17 Single-Bilingual Pet Shop Boys 3:49
  36. 18 Somewhere [Cover] Pet Shop Boys 4:38

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |