Slacker Logo

Peter Gabriel [3]: Melt

Peter Gabriel 9/28/2010


Generally regarded as Peter Gabriel's finest record, his third eponymous album finds him coming into his own, crafting an album that's artier, stronger, more song-oriented than before. Consider its ominous opener, the controlled menace of "Intruder." He's never found such a scary sound, yet it's a sexy scare, one that is undeniably alluring, and he keeps this going throughout the record. For an album so popular, it's remarkably bleak, chilly, and dark -- even radio favorites like "I Don't Remember" and "Games Without Frontiers" are hardly cheerful, spiked with paranoia and suspicion, insulated in introspection. For the first time, Gabriel has found the sound to match his themes, plus the songs to articulate his themes. Each aspect of the album works, feeding off each other, creating a romantically gloomy, appealingly arty masterpiece. It's the kind of record where you remember the details in the production as much as the hooks or the songs, which isn't to say that it's all surface -- it's just that the surface means as much as the songs, since it articulates the emotions as well as Gabriel's cubist lyrics and impassioned voice. He wound up having albums that sold more, or generated bigger hits, but this third Peter Gabriel album remains his masterpiece. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Intruder Peter Gabriel 4:51
  3. 2 No Self Control Peter Gabriel 3:50
  4. 3 Start Peter Gabriel 1:21
  5. 4 I Don't Remember Peter Gabriel 4:33
  6. 5 Family Snapshot Peter Gabriel 4:23
  7. 6 And Through the Wire Peter Gabriel 4:55
  8. 7 Games Without Frontiers Peter Gabriel 4:1
  9. 8 Not One of Us Peter Gabriel 5:18
  10. 9 Lead a Normal Life Peter Gabriel 4:9
  11. 10 Biko Peter Gabriel 7:24

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |