Slacker Logo


Phil Collins 10/6/1998


If Hits seems a little inadequate, even though it weighs in at 16 tracks, that's because Phil Collins had such a long, productive run. Also, to casual listeners (and possibly even some fans), it's hard to tell which singles are by Genesis and which ones are solo cuts. So, it's almost a certainty that listeners will find something missing from this disc -- and not just because Genesis cuts are absent, but because there's not enough space to fit all of Collins' solo hits, especially since the compilers decided to include a couple of lesser, latter-day hits at the expense of some earlier, bigger ones, while adding his non-LP cover of Cyndi Lauper's "True Colors" to entice hardcore fans. Thus, there are only 13 hits, which means some other big hits and good songs are absent -- "I Missed Again," "I Don't Care Anymore," "Don't Lose My Number," "Do You Remember?" are all MIA. A few of these omissions are quite regrettable, but in the end, Hits is nevertheless a representative and pretty entertaining collection. The sequencing is not chronological, so it doesn't develop a nice flow (although "Take Me Home" is admittedly the ideal closer), but the chief strength of this collection is that it puts all of the big hits - including "Easy Lover," "Against All Odds," "In the Air Tonight," "Sussudio," "One More Night" and "Separate Lives" -- in one place. No, it's not perfect -- and it's hard not to wish that it was -- but Hits still contains the majority of Collins' solo smashes, and that alone makes it a nice addition to his catalog. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Another Day in Paradise Phil Collins 5:18
  3. 2 True Colors Phil Collins 4:30
  4. 3 Easy Lover Phil Collins 4:59
  5. 4 You Can't Hurry Love Phil Collins 2:49
  6. 5 Two Hearts Phil Collins 3:21
  7. 6 I Wish It Would Rain Down Phil Collins 5:25
  8. 7 Against All Odds (Take a Look at Me Now) Phil Collins 3:22
  9. 8 Something Happened on the Way to Heaven Phil Collins 4:47
  10. 9 Separate Lives Phil Collins 4:4
  11. 10 Both Sides of the Story Phil Collins 6:34
  12. 11 One More Night Phil Collins 4:42
  13. 12 Sussudio Phil Collins 4:19
  14. 13 Dance into the Light Phil Collins 4:19
  15. 14 A Groovy Kind of Love Phil Collins 3:28
  16. 15 In the Air Tonight Phil Collins 5:25
  17. 16 Take Me Home Phil Collins 5:46

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |