Slacker Logo

Platinum & Gold Collection

Phyllis Hyman 10/12/2004


The Phyllis Hyman entry in the Platinum & Gold Collection series concentrates on the singer's most commercially successful years, from the late '70s through the early '80s (also her Buddah and Arista years), while including a stray pick from later recordings. As with most of the other discs in this midline series, it's short and sweet, but it's rather peculiar in that it sacrifices a few chart entries -- "Can't We Fall in Love Again," "Riding the Tiger," and "No One Can Love You More" are absent -- for album cuts and a small clutch of obscurities. This approach doesn't make the disc the best summation of Hyman's career, especially if you want all the radio hits. However, the disc does help illustrate the depth of the Hyman's discography. "Some Way," an album cut that's also one of James Mtume and Reggie Lewis' finest productions, along with a pair of 1980 outtakes produced by Norman Connors and Chuck Jackson (neither of which have appeared on a U.S. release until now), has the right to be here. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Loving You, Losing You Phyllis Hyman 3:46
  3. 2 Give a Little More Phyllis Hyman 4:5
  4. 3 Somewhere in My Lifetime Phyllis Hyman 3:28
  5. 4 Some Way Phyllis Hyman 5:11
  6. 5 If You Ever Change Your Mind [Previously Unreleased] Phyllis Hyman 2:58
  7. 6 Tonight You and Me Phyllis Hyman 3:46
  8. 7 You Sure Look Good to Me Phyllis Hyman 4:21
  9. 8 In Between the Heartaches [Previously Unreleased] Phyllis Hyman 3:44
  10. 9 Why Did You Turn Me On Phyllis Hyman 4:11
  11. 10 Don't Wanna Change the World Phyllis Hyman 5:19
  12. 11 Living in Confusion Phyllis Hyman 3:58
  13. 12 I'm Truly Yours Phyllis Hyman 5:40

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |