Slacker Logo

The Best Of [US Limited Edition]


Other albums by Radiohead

  1. My Iron Lung
  2. Kid A
  3. Amnesiac
  4. OK Computer
  5. In Rainbows
Radiohead 6/3/2008


The year 2008 might have been a slightly early point in time to release expanded editions of the first several Radiohead albums, so Capitol greased the reissue pipeline with The Best Of, a 17-track disc with a track list that is as debatable as any other. The idea of squeezing the band's first six albums into something resembling a definitive one-disc introduction seems almost as wise as presenting A Collection of Great Dance Songs (incidentally a Capitol release) as the one true and useful introduction to Pink Floyd, but to be more fair, the disc does cover just about all of the basics: all the singles and emphasis tracks, from Pablo Honey's "Creep" through Hail to the Thief's "2+2=5," along with a small assortment of the band's better-known album cuts. One track apiece comes from Pablo Honey (1993) and Amnesiac (2001); three are from Kid A (2000), four are from OK Computer (1997), and six are off The Bends (1995). The primary problem, of course, is that Radiohead are much more an albums band than a singles band, especially from OK Computer onward, so a natural reflex for someone who has valued the band since The Bends is to shriek in mild agony; in principle, a best-of Radiohead compilation is similar to a DVD containing somewhat thoughtfully picked scenes from films made by a specific director. For a very casual fan who has absolutely no interest in exploring beyond the songs he or she heard on the radio or through MTV and the like, this set will do (it has "Creep" and half of The Bends, after all, and then a bunch of "the weird stuff"), but otherwise it clearly serves a purpose more meaningful for the label than anyone else. [An inevitable limited edition contains a second disc, which digs deeper into the albums while providing a few B-sides and compilation tracks.] ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Just Radiohead 3:52
  3. 2 Paranoid Android Radiohead 6:24
  4. 3 Karma Police Radiohead 4:22
  5. 4 Creep Radiohead 3:55
  6. 5 No Surprises Radiohead 3:47
  7. 6 High and Dry Radiohead 4:14
  8. 7 My Iron Lung Radiohead 4:35
  9. 8 There There Radiohead 5:19
  10. 9 Lucky Radiohead 4:15
  11. 10 Optimistic Radiohead 5:16
  12. 11 Fake Plastic Trees Radiohead 4:49
  13. 12 Idioteque Radiohead 5:9
  14. 13 2+2=5 Radiohead 3:18
  15. 14 The Bends Radiohead 4:3
  16. 15 Pyramid Song Radiohead 4:49
  17. 16 Street Spirit (Fade Out) Radiohead 4:10
  18. 17 Everything in Its Right Place Radiohead 4:8
  19. 1 Airbag Radiohead 4:44
  20. 2 I Might Be Wrong Radiohead 4:50
  21. 3 Go to Sleep Radiohead 3:20
  22. 4 Let Down Radiohead 4:57
  23. 5 Planet Telex Radiohead 4:18
  24. 6 Exit Music (For a Film) Radiohead 4:24
  25. 7 The National Anthem Radiohead 5:47
  26. 8 Knives Out Radiohead 4:15
  27. 9 Talk Show Host Radiohead 4:37
  28. 10 You Radiohead 3:25
  29. 11 Anyone Can Play Guitar Radiohead 3:34
  30. 12 How to Disappear Completely Radiohead 5:52
  31. 13 True Love Waits Radiohead 5:1

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |