Slacker Logo

Something for the Pain


Other albums by Redlight King

  1. Born to Rise
  2. Irons in the Fire
  3. Old Man
  4. Built to Last
Redlight King 6/14/2011


Although he may be classified as a rap or hip-hop artist, Mark "Kaz" Kasperczk, operating under the name Redlight King, combines singing and rhythmic patter in a style not so much reminiscent of Kanye West as of Red Hot Chili Peppers' Anthony Kiedis or even ‘80s pop star Corey Hart of "Sunglasses at Night" fame. Kasperczk's own claim to fame so far is "Old Man," his recasting of fellow Canadian Neil Young's classic, which samples the Young record, but, in its rap, pays tribute to a different kind of "old man," Kasperczk's father. The artist comes across as far more experienced than might be expected of a performer on his debut record. What other first-time effort has a song called "Comeback"? But this is a weathered guy who is, as he notes in "Drivin to Kalifornia," still chased by the Devil, which in his case means substance abuse. In the folk ballad "When the Dust Settles Down," which closes the disc and recalls Shawn Mullins' "Lullaby," Kasperczk confesses to having committed all of the seven deadly sins, but the album serves notice that he has overcome his addictions and is grateful for another chance. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Something for the Pain Redlight King 3:27
  3. 2 Bullet in My Hand Redlight King 3:3
  4. 3 Old Man Redlight King 2:59
  5. 4 City Life Redlight King 3:25
  6. 5 Comeback Redlight King 3:38
  7. 6 Drivin to Kalifornia Redlight King 2:59
  8. 7 Built to Last Redlight King 3:36
  9. 8 Underground Redlight King 3:20
  10. 9 Little Darlin Redlight King 3:46
  11. 10 Past the Gates Redlight King 3:9
  12. 11 When the Dust Settles Down Redlight King 2:56
  13. 12 [CD-ROM Track] Redlight King null:null

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |