Slacker Logo

The Definitive Collection

Rick James 11//2006


A condensed version of the 2005 Rick James Gold collection, The Definitive Collection trims the fat found on Gold and leaves a nice balance between his most well-known hits and some of his most acclaimed production work with other artists. Definitive wastes no time getting into the goods either, starting with the one-two punch of "You and I" and his ode to herbal jazz cigarettes, "Mary Jane." The goods are chronologically arranged, and it's not until the middle of the disc that James' most well-known anthems -- "Super Freak, Pt. 1" and "Give It to Me Baby" -- are found. But it's not only his recordings that make Definitive so accessible for casual fans; his production work with Teena Marie, Smokey Robinson, and the Temptations (all included here) will sound instantly recognizable to anyone who listened to R&B radio during the '80s. Lacking any sort of deep cuts, collectors and die-hard fans will most likely already own everything here. But casual fans looking for all the hits would be well served in using this as a starting point to explore further, as Definitive has all the hits and then some. ~ Rob Theakston
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 You and I Rick James 8:0
  3. 2 Mary Jane Rick James 4:54
  4. 3 Bustin' Out (On Funk) Rick James 3:51
  5. 4 High on Your Love Suite Rick James 3:24
  6. 5 Love Gun Rick James 3:56
  7. 6 Big Time Rick James 3:33
  8. 7 Give It to Me Baby Rick James 4:6
  9. 8 Super Freak Rick James 3:22
  10. 9 Fire and Desire Rick James 7:14
  11. 10 Standing on the Top The Temptations 4:19
  12. 11 Dance Wit' Me Rick James 4:13
  13. 12 Cold Blooded Rick James 5:54
  14. 13 Ebony Eyes Rick James 4:59
  15. 14 17 Rick James 4:8
  16. 15 Can't Stop Rick James 4:15
  17. 16 Glow Rick James 4:27
  18. 17 Loosey's Rap Rick James 3:51

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |