Slacker Logo

Mono Sex Head [Deluxe]

Rob Zombie 8/7/2012


An artist who is no stranger to being remixed, Rob Zombie lets more producers take a shot at reworking his songs on the career-spanning remix album Mondo Sex Head. Featuring songs from his solo career and his time in White Zombie, the album feels like a best-of as it re-imagines 20 years of hit songs. The album kicks off with Zombie's first hit, "Thunder Kiss '65," which gets a dubstep-influenced remix courtesy of fellow '90s alt-metal superhero Jonathan Davis (Korn), who reinvigorates the song with a marching beat and a screeching, chopped-up chorus. Deftones' Chino Moreno and Far's Shaun Lopez (under their Crosses moniker) drop in to give the maximalist horror rock anthem "Dragula" a more subdued, atmospheric makeover, stripping away the song's raucous exterior and replacing it with something unusually plaintive. The most impressive thing about the album is Zombie's knack for finding the right person for the job, expertly assigning the tracks to artists who can properly transform each song into something that keeps its original core intact while turning the rest of the song into an entirely new entity. This ability to get something unique out of people without compromising his own vision makes it no surprise that the singer has had such a successful career behind the camera as a director. This blend of the original songs' intentions and the careful hand of the remixers makes Mondo Sex Head an album that is sure to appeal to fans of Zombie as well as fans of the producers brave enough to rework some of these alt-classics. ~ Gregory Heaney
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Thunder Kiss '65 [JDevil Number of the Beast Remix] White Zombie 3:49
  3. 2 Living Dead Girl [Photek Remix] Rob Zombie 7:1
  4. 3 Let It All Bleed Out [Document One Remix] Rob Zombie 4:41
  5. 4 Foxy Foxy [Ki:Theory Remix] Rob Zombie 3:44
  6. 5 More Human Than Human [Big Black Delta Remix] White Zombie 4:5
  7. 6 Dragula [††† Remix] Rob Zombie 4:30
  8. 7 P**** Liquor [Ki:Theory Remix] Rob Zombie 3:23
  9. 8 Lords of Salem [Das Kaptial Remix] Rob Zombie 7:9
  10. 9 Never Gonna Stop [Drumcorps Acid Remix] Rob Zombie 3:26
  11. 10 Superbeast [Kraddy Remix] Rob Zombie 4:22
  12. 11 Devil's Hole Girls [Tobias Enhus Remix] Rob Zombie 4:12
  13. 12 Burn [The Bloody Beetroots Motherfucker Remix] Rob Zombie 3:3
  14. 13 Mars Needs Women [Griffin Boice Remix] Rob Zombie 3:22

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |