Slacker Logo

Hot Shot [Germany Bonus Track]

Shaggy 4/9/2001


Shaggy's fourth album is a classic hybrid of reggae, R&B, and pop. Following duets with Maxi Priest ("That Girl") and Janet Jackson ("Luv Me, Luv Me"), the Jamaica native teams up with master producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis and a myriad of talented guest vocalists who complement his personality on each track. Coming with the minor hit "Hope" from 1999's For Love of the Game soundtrack, the first couple of singles, "Dance and Shout" (featuring a Michael Jackson sample) and "It Wasn't Me," show the strengths of this album -- they are smart, warm, and playful. Shaggy's persona is hard to not like. On "It Wasn't Me," a friend laments being caught by his girl with another woman; Shaggy continually advises him to flatly deny it. To be able to use that sentiment and still seem likable is a gift. There are such heavy samples, some of the tracks almost sound like remakes at points, but there is such originality and gifted wordplay that the combination works as opposed to seeming unoriginal -- something most rappers can't seem to accomplish. Each song on Hot Shot from the opening title track on is different, inviting, and infectious. [The German release changes the track order and adds the bonus track "Joy You Bring"] ~ Bryan Buss
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Hot Shot Shaggy 3:46
  3. 2 Lonely Lover Shaggy 3:45
  4. 3 It Wasn't Me Shaggy 3:46
  5. 4 Freaky Girl Shaggy 3:43
  6. 5 Leave It to Me Shaggy 3:35
  7. 6 Angel Shaggy 3:54
  8. 7 Hope Shaggy 3:45
  9. 8 Keep'n It Real Shaggy 3:54
  10. 9 Luv Me, Luv, Me Shaggy 3:34
  11. 10 Not Fair Shaggy 3:45
  12. 11 Hey Love Shaggy 3:59
  13. 12 Why Me Lord? Shaggy 3:33
  14. 13 Joy You Bring Shaggy 3:27
  15. 14 Chica Bonita Shaggy 3:59
  16. 15 Dance and Shout Shaggy 3:45

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |