Slacker Logo


Stone Sour 6/30/2017


The veteran hard rockers' sixth studio long-player, Hydrograd takes its name from an airport sign that frontman Corey Taylor misread while racing to make a connecting flight in Eastern Europe. It's a fitting metaphor for the group, which, since its inception in 1992, has refused to be pigeonholed; carving out its own stylistically neutral brand of accessible modern heavy metal that's flirted with nearly every iteration of the genre. Notably, Hydrograd is the first Stone Sour outing not to feature guitarist and co-founder Jim Root, who left rather acrimoniously in 2013. The band has stated that Christian Martucci, who joined up in 2015, played a huge role in shaping the sound of the album, which is far more textural and cinematic, though no less heavy, than prior outings. Recorded live in the studio with Jay Ruston (Steel Panther, Anthrax, the Donnas), the sprawling 15-track set, which clocks in at just over an hour, can feel a little unruly, but there's more than enough meat here to make a proper sandwich. The melody-rich "Song #3," the vaguely Queensrÿche-ian closer "When the Fever Broke," and "Rose Red Violent Blue (This Song Is Dumb & So Am I)," the latter of which flirts with a Beatles que verse melody before launching into a vintage arena rock chorus, are all radio-friendly enough to make it to primetime, but Stone Sour have always been at their best when they inject their more commercial side with a little venom. They do just that on the knotty opener "Taipei Person/Allah Tea" and the galvanic single "Fabuless" -- the singularly titled "Whiplash Pants" also hits that sweet spot -- and it's in those grey areas where Hydrograd begins to make sense. ~ James Christopher Monger
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 YSIF Stone Sour 2:2
  3. 2 Taipei Person/Allah Tea Stone Sour 5:14
  4. 3 Knievel Has Landed Stone Sour 4:0
  5. 4 Hydrograd Stone Sour 4:35
  6. 5 Song No. 3 Stone Sour 4:15
  7. 6 Fabuless Stone Sour 3:59
  8. 7 The Witness Trees Stone Sour 4:42
  9. 8 Rose Red Violent Blue [This Song Is Dumb & So Am I] Stone Sour 4:55
  10. 9 Thank God It's Over Stone Sour 3:34
  11. 10 St. Marie Stone Sour 4:25
  12. 11 Mercy Stone Sour 3:21
  13. 12 Whiplash Pants Stone Sour 4:18
  14. 13 Friday Knights Stone Sour 5:17
  15. 14 Somebody Stole My Eyes Stone Sour 3:48
  16. 15 When the Fever Broke Stone Sour 6:30

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |