Slacker Logo

The Psychedelic Sounds of the 13th Floor Elevators [UK Bonus Tracks]



Did the 13th Floor Elevators invent psychedelic rock? Aficionados will be debating that point for decades, but if Roky Erickson and his fellow travelers into inner space weren't there first, they were certainly close to the front of the line, and there are few albums from the early stages of the psych movement that sound as distinctively trippy -- and remain as pleasing -- as the group's groundbreaking debut, The Psychedelic Sounds of the 13th Floor Elevators. In 1966, psychedelia hadn't been around long enough for its clichés to be set in stone, and Psychedelic Sounds thankfully avoids most of them; while the sensuous twists of the melodies and the charming psychobabble of the lyrics make it sound like these folks were indulging in something stronger than Pearl Beer, at this point the Elevators sounded like a smarter-than-average folk-rock band with a truly uncommon level of intensity. Roky Erickson's vocals are strong and compelling throughout, whether he's wailing like some lysergic James Brown or murmuring quietly, and Stacy Sutherland's guitar leads -- long on melodic invention without a lot of pointless heroics -- are a real treat to hear. And nobody played electric jug quite like Tommy Hall -- actually, nobody played it at all besides him, but his oddball noises gave the band a truly unique sonic texture. If you want to argue that psychedelia was as much a frame of mind as a musical style, it's instructive to compare the recording of "You're Gonna Miss Me" by Erickson's earlier band, the Spades, to the version on this album -- the difference is more attitudinal than anything else, but it's enough to make all the difference in the world. (The division is even clearer between the Spades' "We Sell Soul" and the rewrite on Psychedelic Sounds, "Don't Fall Down"). The 13th Floor Elevators were trailblazers in the psychedelic rock scene, and in time they'd pay a heavy price for exploring the outer edges of musical and psychological possibility, but along the way they left behind a few fine albums, and The Psychedelic Sounds of the 13th Floor Elevators remains a potent delight. [This version of the album includes bonus material.] ~ Mark Deming
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 You're Gonna Miss Me The 13th Floor Elevators 2:26
  3. 2 Roller Coaster The 13th Floor Elevators 5:5
  4. 3 Splash The 13th Floor Elevators 3:55
  5. 4 Reverberation (Doubt) The 13th Floor Elevators 2:49
  6. 5 Don't Fall Down The 13th Floor Elevators 3:1
  7. 6 Fire Engine The 13th Floor Elevators 3:21
  8. 7 Thru the Rhythm The 13th Floor Elevators 3:7
  9. 8 You Don't Know The 13th Floor Elevators 2:57
  10. 9 Kingdom of Heaven The 13th Floor Elevators 3:9
  11. 10 Monkey Island The 13th Floor Elevators 2:36
  12. 11 Tried to Hide The 13th Floor Elevators 2:48
  13. 12 Everybody Needs Somebody to Love The 13th Floor Elevators 5:15
  14. 13 Before You Accuse Me The 13th Floor Elevators 2:35
  15. 14 I'm Gonna Love You Too The 13th Floor Elevators 1:53
  16. 15 You Relly Got Me The 13th Floor Elevators 6:18
  17. 16 Roll Over Beethoven The 13th Floor Elevators 2:47
  18. 17 The Word The 13th Floor Elevators 2:46
  19. 18 Gloria The 13th Floor Elevators 3:56
  20. 19 She Lives (In a Time of Her Own) The 13th Floor Elevators 2:58
  21. 20 We Sell Soul The Spades 3:19
  22. 21 You're Gonna Miss Me The Spades 3:24

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |