Slacker Logo

The Definitive Collection [1997]



The Definitive Collection is a fabulous double-disc assembly of the Alan Parsons Project's singles that includes the band's strongest material up to 1996. All the songs are presented chronologically, and the information inside discusses each source album with great detail and offers extensive crediting for each individual track. Some obvious appearances include "The Raven," "Games People Play," "Eye in the Sky," "Don't Answer Me," and "Pyramania." What makes this set such a treasure is the inclusion of songs that fail to surface on other compilations, like "Snake Eyes" from Turn of a Friendly Card, "Too Late" from the overlooked Gaudi album, or the eerie "Doctor Tarr and Professor Feather" from Tales of Mystery and Imagination. A good number of instrumentals are welcomed throughout the CDs as well, such as "I Robot," "Voyager," "Sirius," and "Mammagamma." Two of the better tracks from 1993's Try Anything Once album appear here also, in "Turn It Up" and "Re-Jigue." Fans of the Alan Parsons Project will wonder why such gems as "Lucifer," "Winding Me Up," or "You Lie Down With Dogs" fail to appear, but after an overview of the selections it's obvious they've been bumped for more commercial songs, which still doesn't hinder this collection. The Definitive Collection is about as precise as a hits package can be from this band, short of a box set. The sound is pristine, and the cover and packaging are apropos to the band's style and music. This absolute collection lets the listener combine all of the ideas and concepts of Parsons into almost two hours of music, as each song aptly signifies his brilliant career as both musician and engineer. ~ Mike DeGagne
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 (The System of) Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether The Alan Parsons Project 4:16
  3. 2 The Raven The Alan Parsons Project 4:8
  4. 3 I Robot [Instrumental] Alan Parsons 6:2
  5. 4 I Wouldn't Want to Be Like You The Alan Parsons Project 3:20
  6. 5 Breakdown Alan Parsons 3:51
  7. 6 Don't Let It Show Alan Parsons 4:22
  8. 7 Voyager [Instrumental] The Alan Parsons Project 2:25
  9. 8 What Goes Up... The Alan Parsons Project 3:31
  10. 9 The Eagle Will Rise Again The Alan Parsons Project 4:21
  11. 10 Can't Take It With You The Alan Parsons Project 4:59
  12. 11 Pyramania The Alan Parsons Project 2:45
  13. 12 Damned If I Do Alan Parsons 4:53
  14. 13 Lucifer [Instrumental] Alan Parsons 5:3
  15. 14 If I Could Change Your Mind Alan Parsons 5:51
  16. 15 The Turn of a Friendly Card, Pt. 1 Alan Parsons 2:43
  17. 16 Snake Eyes Alan Parsons 3:18
  18. 17 Games People Play Alan Parsons 4:25
  19. 18 Time Alan Parsons 5:5
  20. 1 Sirius [Instrumental] The Alan Parsons Project 1:57
  21. 2 Eye in the Sky The Alan Parsons Project 4:36
  22. 3 Psychobabble Alan Parsons 4:52
  23. 4 Mammagamma [Instrumental] The Alan Parsons Project 3:33
  24. 5 Old and Wise Alan Parsons 4:48
  25. 6 Prime Time Alan Parsons 5:3
  26. 7 Don't Answer Me The Alan Parsons Project 4:13
  27. 8 You Don't Believe Alan Parsons 4:26
  28. 9 Let's Talk About Me Alan Parsons 4:29
  29. 10 Days Are Numbers (The Traveller) Alan Parsons 4:27
  30. 11 Stereotomy Alan Parsons 7:3
  31. 12 In the Real World Alan Parsons 4:16
  32. 13 Standing on Higher Ground Alan Parsons 5:47
  33. 14 Too Late Alan Parsons 4:31
  34. 15 Turn It Up The Alan Parsons Project 6:12
  35. 16 Re-Jigue [Instrumental] The Alan Parsons Project 2:27

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |