Slacker Logo

When the World Comes Down


Other albums by The All-American Rejects


The All-American Rejects first left behind the charmingly naïve sounds of their debut for 2005's Move Along, an album that paired emo-pop anthems with spit-shine studio polish. Arriving three years later, When the World Comes Down reprises the same formula that made Move Along a success, from the radio-ready tracks to the use of auxiliary instruments. Strings, orchestral flourishes, and a female choir all beef up these 13 songs, which (at their root) are straightforward pop tunes about heartbreak, heartache, and other cheerless conditions of the cardiac organ. The extra instruments aren't always needed, but they do add an extra layer to the band's songwriting, which isn't nearly as intricate as the accompanying arrangements. "Fallin' Apart" experiments with bouncing piano and bowed strings, "The Wind Blows" finds room to house an entire orchestra, and "Another Heart Calls" pairs Tyson Ritter's vocals with the twangy lilt of the Pierces, whose cameo appearance is a bit odd (a folk duo on an emo album?), but still serves as one of the record's truly unique moments. Elsewhere, producer Eric Valentine paints these tunes with coats of gloss, as if to make the group's four-chord progressions sound more interesting than anything by their likeminded peers. Therein lies the Rejects' main obstacle, as they tend to focus on presentation rather than execution. Of course, When the World Comes Down is nothing if not a commercial record, and these potential singles will undoubtedly cement a space on digital radio. Discerning fans may demand something new from the band's next effort, however, since this is essentially Move Along with a revised track list. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I Wanna The All-American Rejects 3:28
  3. 2 Fallin' Apart The All-American Rejects 3:27
  4. 3 Damn Girl The All-American Rejects 3:49
  5. 4 Gives You Hell The All-American Rejects 3:29
  6. 5 Mona Lisa The All-American Rejects 3:14
  7. 6 Breakin' The All-American Rejects 3:57
  8. 7 Another Heart Calls The All-American Rejects 4:6
  9. 8 Real World The All-American Rejects 4:1
  10. 9 Back to Me The All-American Rejects 4:25
  11. 10 Believe The All-American Rejects 3:28
  12. 11 The Wind Blows The All-American Rejects 4:18
  13. 12 [Untitled] The All-American Rejects 0:30
  14. 13 [Untitled] The All-American Rejects 2:59
  15. 13 Sunshine The All-American Rejects 2:59

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |