Slacker Logo

Shake Your Money Maker [Bonus Tracks]

The Black Crowes 8/11/1998


The Black Crowes' debut album, Shake Your Money Maker, might borrow heavily from the bluesy hard rock grooves of the Rolling Stones and Faces (plus a bit of classic soul), but the band gets away with it due to sharp songwriting and an ear for strong riffs and chorus melodies, not to mention the gritty, muscular rhythm guitar of Rich Robinson and brother Chris' appropriate vocal swagger. Unlike their later records, the Crowes don't really stretch out and jam that much on Money Maker, but that helps distill their virtues into a handful of memorable singles ("Jealous Again," "She Talks to Angels," a cover of Otis Redding's "Hard to Handle"), and most of the album tracks maintain an equally high standard. Shake Your Money Maker might not be stunningly original, but it doesn't need to be; it's the most concise demonstration of the fact that the Black Crowes are a great, classic rock & roll band. [The 1998 reissue offers "Don't Wake Me," "Mercy, Sweet Moan," and an acoustic version of "She Talks to Angels" as bonus tracks.] ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Twice as Hard The Black Crowes 4:8
  3. 2 Jealous Again The Black Crowes 4:30
  4. 3 Sister Luck The Black Crowes 5:9
  5. 4 Could I've Been So Blind The Black Crowes 3:41
  6. 5 Seeing Things The Black Crowes 5:14
  7. 6 Hard to Handle The Black Crowes 3:6
  8. 7 Thick N' Thin The Black Crowes 2:39
  9. 8 She Talks to Angels The Black Crowes 5:27
  10. 9 Struttin' Blues The Black Crowes 4:5
  11. 10 Stare It Cold The Black Crowes 5:12
  12. 11 Don't Wake Me The Black Crowes 3:30
  13. 12 She Talks to Angels [Acoustic] The Black Crowes 6:17
  14. 13 (Untitled Hidden Track) The Black Crowes 1:5

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |