Slacker Logo

The Essential Blues Brothers

The Blues Brothers 3/25/2003


This 2003 release compiles tracks from the Blues Brothers' two live albums and The Blues Brothers soundtrack. Of the 12 songs, five come from 1978's Briefcase Full of Blues, five from 1980's Made in America, and two from 1980's soundtrack. The songs from Briefcase Full of Blues are the highlights; tracks like "Messin' With the Kid," "Rubber Biscuit," and the huge hit "Soul Man" are loose, full of fun, and alive with soul -- they capture a cultural moment and will have you dancing around the room. The two tracks from the soundtrack, "Gimme Some Lovin'" and "Everybody Needs Somebody to Love," are less successful; Joliet Jake and Elwood need a raw, live setting to shine -- coop them up in a studio and their flaws (mainly weak vocals) are very obvious. By the time Made in America was released, the Blues Brothers' schtick was wearing a bit thin (Elwood sounds especially dorky on his molasses-slow rendition of the Robins/Coasters' "Riot in Cell Block #9"), the music was sounding a bit tired and overly professional, and the covers less obscure. There is enough energy in the presentation to make the music fun, but it doesn't have the same punch that the first record did. An essential Blues Brothers release would probably have more songs from the first record, less from the second, and a couple more tracks from the soundtrack, like the funky "She Caught the Katy." You might as well choose The Definitive Collection. It sells for about the same price but has 20 songs instead of 12, including seven from Briefcase; takes more songs from the movie, including Aretha Franklin's storming version of "Think" (but not "She Caught the Katy" for some reason); and has a weird version of "Expressway to Your Heart" unavailable elsewhere. ~ Tim Sendra
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Opening: I Can't Turn You Loose The Blues Brothers 1:50
  3. 2 Rubber Biscuit The Blues Brothers 2:58
  4. 3 Soul Man The Blues Brothers 3:29
  5. 4 Soul Finger/Funky Broadway The Blues Brothers 1:43
  6. 5 Do You Love Me/Mother Popcorn (You Got to Have a Mother for Me) The Blues Brothers 2:54
  7. 6 Riot in Cell Block #9 The Blues Brothers 3:25
  8. 7 Messin' With the Kid The Blues Brothers 3:35
  9. 8 (I Got Everything I Need) Almost The Blues Brothers 2:50
  10. 9 Who's Making Love The Blues Brothers 3:32
  11. 10 Gimme Some Lovin' The Blues Brothers 3:7
  12. 11 Everybody Needs Somebody to Love The Blues Brothers 3:25
  13. 12 Going Back to Miami The Blues Brothers 4:0

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |