Slacker Logo


The Moody Blues 31//2005


The Moody Blues get the two-disc treatment on the latest installment of Polydor's surprisingly thorough Gold series. Rather than just assemble the usual suspects around staples like "Tuesday Afternoon" and "Story in Your Eyes" (which are here), the compilers dove deep into the group's career, providing tracks from solo recordings like "Remember Me My Friend" from Justin Hayward and John Lodge's excellent Blue Jays album and their gorgeous follow-up single, "Blue Guitar," as well as lesser-known late-'70s/early-'80s cuts from Octave, The Present, and Sur la Mer. Gold also includes some of the superior, somewhat neglected album tracks from the group's heyday, such as "Never Comes the Day," "Candle of Life," and the beautiful "Watching and Waiting," any of which could have been singles, and the last a far better track than the oft-compared "Nights in White Satin." Also significant is the dramatic improvement in the sound on these newly digitized tracks, which take full advantage of 24-bit mastering and are vastly superior even to the same cuts on 1996-vintage remastered versions of the group's first seven albums -- textures, timbres, instruments, and musical parts that were formerly buried in the mixes of the songs and only hinted at in playback are suddenly audible in sharp relief here (which leads one to ask when those, plus Octave -- which was out of print as of the start of 2005 -- and the other later albums, might be due for another upgrade). Listeners looking for an easy, affordable, and comprehensive guide to the Moodies will be hard-pressed to find anything better outside of 1994's Time Traveller box set, and its sound quality can't match what one hears on this set. ~ James Christopher Monger & Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Tuesday Afternoon (Forever Afternoon) The Moody Blues 4:9
  3. 2 Nights in White Satin The Moody Blues 4:23
  4. 3 Ride My See-Saw The Moody Blues 3:40
  5. 4 Legend of a Mind The Moody Blues 6:36
  6. 5 Voices in the Sky The Moody Blues 3:28
  7. 6 Lovely to See You The Moody Blues 2:33
  8. 7 Never Comes the Day The Moody Blues 4:39
  9. 8 Gypsy (Of a Strange and Distant Time) The Moody Blues 3:33
  10. 9 Candle of Life The Moody Blues 4:11
  11. 10 Watching and Waiting The Moody Blues 4:11
  12. 11 Question The Moody Blues 5:42
  13. 12 Melancholy Man The Moody Blues 5:43
  14. 13 The Story in Your Eyes The Moody Blues 3:2
  15. 14 Lost in a Lost World The Moody Blues 4:39
  16. 15 New Horizons The Moody Blues 5:10
  17. 16 Isn't Life Strange The Moody Blues 6:3
  18. 17 I'm Just a Singer (In a Rock 'N' Roll Band) The Moody Blues 4:14
  19. 1 Remember Me My Friend [Single Edit] The Moody Blues 3:51
  20. 2 Blue Guitar The Moody Blues 3:36
  21. 3 Steppin' in a Slide Zone The Moody Blues 5:28
  22. 4 Had to Fall in Love The Moody Blues 3:40
  23. 5 Driftwood The Moody Blues 4:21
  24. 6 Forever Autumn The Moody Blues 4:15
  25. 7 The Voice The Moody Blues 5:10
  26. 8 Talking out of Turn The Moody Blues 4:54
  27. 9 Gemini Dream The Moody Blues 4:3
  28. 10 Blue World The Moody Blues 5:10
  29. 11 Sitting at the Wheel The Moody Blues 5:33
  30. 12 Your Wildest Dreams The Moody Blues 4:48
  31. 13 I Know You're out There Somewhere The Moody Blues 6:34
  32. 14 Say It with Love The Moody Blues 3:52
  33. 15 Bless the Wings (That Bring You Back) [Remix] The Moody Blues 3:58
  34. 16 Strange Times The Moody Blues 4:27
  35. 17 December Snow The Moody Blues 5:9

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |