Slacker Logo

Sire Sessions: The Rockfield Recordings

The Searchers 6/10/1997


The 23 songs here comprise the band's 1979-1980 recordings for Seymour Stein's Sire label, originally spread among two LPs that appeared in different versions in England and America. The original tapes have been remastered using Sony's Super Bit Mapping system, which has resulted in crisp and detailed resolution -- the fact that the CD producers weren't afraid to pump up the volume has helped also, giving these songs more of a punch than the original LPs (at least, in America) ever had. Some of the songs haven't withstood the test of time -- the Pender/McNally/Allen original "This Kind of Love Affair" is a little too repetitive -- while others, like Dave Edmunds bassist John David's beautiful "You Are the New Day," have taken on a life of their own (it was later covered by the King's Singers). "Love's Melody," "Hearts in Her Eyes," "Switchboard Susan," "It's Too Late," "Lost in Your Eyes," and "You Are the New Day" rate among the group's all-time best tracks. Additionally, this is overall the best-sounding of all the group's CDs, far more impressive than any of the Pye/PRT recordings from the early '60s, as well as the most sophisticated music in their history. (Beware of identically packaged sets with sound in only one channel.) ~ Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Hearts in Her Eyes The Searchers 3:20
  3. 2 Switchboard Susan The Searchers 3:53
  4. 3 Feeling Fine The Searchers 3:23
  5. 4 This Kind of Love Affair The Searchers 2:56
  6. 5 Lost in Your Eyes The Searchers 4:33
  7. 6 It's Too Late The Searchers 3:30
  8. 7 No Dancing The Searchers 2:55
  9. 8 Coming from the Heart The Searchers 3:47
  10. 9 Don't Hang On The Searchers 2:31
  11. 10 Love's Gonna Be Strong The Searchers 2:59
  12. 11 Back to the War The Searchers 3:36
  13. 12 Love's Melody The Searchers 3:38
  14. 13 Silver The Searchers 3:11
  15. 14 Infatuation The Searchers 2:43
  16. 15 She Made a Fool of You The Searchers 3:17
  17. 16 Almost Saturday Night The Searchers 2:46
  18. 17 You Are the New Day The Searchers 2:35
  19. 18 Everything But a Heartache The Searchers 3:57
  20. 19 Radio Romance The Searchers 3:42
  21. 20 Murder in My Heart The Searchers 2:51
  22. 21 September Gurls The Searchers 2:58
  23. 22 Another Night The Searchers 3:4
  24. 23 Changing The Searchers 3:20

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |