Slacker Logo

Stax Profiles

The Staple Singers 4/25/2006


Throughout the distinct phases of their recording career, from straight rhythmic gospel to Civil Rights protest anthems, to what might be called soul folk to the funky grit of their Stax years, the Staple Singers always delivered songs that said something, and even when the grooves of songs like 1971's "Respect Yourself" or 1972's reggae-tinged "I'll Take You There" were sending people to the dancefloors, the lyrics were hopeful, message-driven missives of support for a better self, a better community, and a better world. Stax Profiles is a fine anthology which collects tracks recorded between 1968 and 1975 during the Staple Singers productive stay at Stax Records, and includes both "Respect Yourself" and "I'll Take You There," as well as the powerful "City in the Sky," "Touch a Hand, Make a Friend," "Are You Sure," with its brilliantly staggered vocals, and the Steve Cropper produced "Long Walk to D.C." There isn't a single lame track here, and while there are lengthier collections of the Staple Singers' Stax years on the market, this one has a wonderful flow. ~ Steve Leggett
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I'll Take You There The Staple Singers 4:44
  3. 2 Respect Yourself The Staple Singers 4:55
  4. 3 If You're Ready (Come Go with Me) The Staple Singers 4:29
  5. 4 Be What You Are The Staple Singers 5:1
  6. 5 Are You Sure The Staple Singers 4:27
  7. 6 Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom) The Staple Singers 3:9
  8. 7 Oh La de Da The Staple Singers 4:57
  9. 8 Touch a Hand, Make a Friend The Staple Singers 4:0
  10. 9 You've Got to Earn It The Staple Singers 3:32
  11. 10 Everyday People The Staple Singers 3:27
  12. 11 My Main Man The Staple Singers 2:13
  13. 12 City in the Sky The Staple Singers 3:52
  14. 13 Long Walk to D.C. The Staple Singers 2:31
  15. 14 The Weight The Staple Singers 4:33

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |