Slacker Logo

The '70s Anthology

The Supremes 10/29/2002


This two-disc set, running as long as CDs allow, provides a comprehensive look at the second and final decade of the Supremes, the era after lead singer Diana Ross left, when sole original member Mary Wilson juggled personnel changes and struggled with Motown Records and the changing musical times to try to maintain the group's success. She did that with some degree of effectiveness, especially in the first few years. It's apparent that Motown did make some efforts to support the Supremes, providing Smokey Robinson and Stevie Wonder as at least occasional writer/producers, with their old hitmakers -- Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier, and Edward Holland Jr. -- even coming back in toward the end. The result was a batch of hits, including the R&B chart-topper "Stoned Love," through mid-1972. It is not clear why the group had no album releases in 1973 or 1974, and Wilson in her liner notes doesn't seem to know, either. But by the time they returned to recording in 1975, despite the efforts of the Holland brothers and a series of disco-styled recordings that scored in the dance clubs, the old momentum was lost, especially as the lineup changed, with lead singer Jean Terrell giving way to Scherrie Payne, and the Supremes disbanded in 1977. On the hits, select album tracks, and some revealing previously unreleased material, one can hear the group's development. Their versions of well-known songs by others -- Stephen Stills' "Love the One You're With," Joni Mitchell's "All I Want," Bread's "Make It With You," the Jackson 5's "Never Can Say Goodbye" -- are illuminating, and hits like "Up the Ladder to the Roof" and "Floy Joy" hold up well. The later editions of the Supremes may not rank with the Diana Ross-led '60s version, but this collection demonstrates that they had their own appeal. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Up the Ladder to the Roof The Supremes 3:14
  3. 2 Everybody's Got the Right to Love The Supremes 2:44
  4. 3 The Loving Country The Supremes 4:11
  5. 4 Life Beats [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 3:29
  6. 5 Together We Can Make Such Sweet Music The Supremes 3:36
  7. 6 Stoned Love The Supremes 4:7
  8. 7 It's Time to Break Down The Supremes 5:15
  9. 8 River Deep, Mountain High The Supremes 4:54
  10. 9 Nathan Jones The Supremes 3:4
  11. 10 Touch The Supremes 3:46
  12. 11 Function at the Junction [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 3:3
  13. 12 Love the One You're With The Supremes 3:46
  14. 13 Oh My Poor Baby [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 2:51
  15. 14 Make It With You [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 3:23
  16. 15 I'll Let Him Know That I Love Him [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 4:5
  17. 16 Never Can Say Goodbye [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 3:18
  18. 17 Walk With Me, Talk With Me Darling [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 2:36
  19. 18 Floy Joy The Supremes 2:53
  20. 19 Automatically Sunshine [Alternate Version][Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 3:8
  21. 20 Your Wonderful, Sweet Sweet Love The Supremes 3:4
  22. 21 When Can Brown Begin The Supremes 3:17
  23. 22 I Keep It Hid The Supremes 3:8
  24. 1 All I Want The Supremes 3:41
  25. 2 I Guess I'll Miss the Man The Supremes 2:41
  26. 3 Bad Weather The Supremes 3:7
  27. 4 Love Train [Unedited Version] The Supremes 3:59
  28. 5 The Sha-La Bandit [Previously Unreleased][Alternate Vocals Version] The Supremes 3:40
  29. 6 It's All Been Said Before The Supremes 2:35
  30. 7 He's My Man [Extended Version][Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 4:55
  31. 8 Give out, But Don't Give Up The Supremes 2:39
  32. 9 Where Do I Go From Here The Supremes 3:21
  33. 10 Bend a Little [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 3:18
  34. 11 Can We Love Again [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 3:25
  35. 12 High Energy [Alternate Version][Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 4:13
  36. 13 I'm Gonna Let My Heart Do the Walking The Supremes 3:35
  37. 14 You're What's Missing in My Life The Supremes 3:58
  38. 15 Don't Let My Teardrops Bother You [Previously Unreleased][Alternate Mix] The Supremes 5:16
  39. 16 There's Room at the Top [Previously Unreleased] The Supremes 5:12
  40. 17 You're My Driving Wheel The Supremes 4:21
  41. 18 Let Yourself Go The Supremes 4:31
  42. 19 Love I Never Knew You Could Feel So Good The Supremes 5:56
  43. 20 We Should Be Closer Together The Supremes 4:57

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |