Slacker Logo

What's a Matter Baby

Timi Yuro 4/26/2004


The title track of Timi Yuro's third album, What's a Matter Baby, was one of her biggest hits, both on the charts and in terms of sound: more than once, Yuro's voice saturates the song, sending recording gauges (and eardrums) into the red. Yuro's big, beautiful, powerful voice lent itself to a variety of settings; aside from the soulful "What's a Matter Baby" and "Hurt," she tackled more mature-sounding orchestral pop, country-pop, and other styles, many of which are represented here. While the more staid "It's Too Soon to Know," "Guess Who," and "For Your Love" feel a little dated now, Yuro's performances inject them with enough passion to keep them sounding vital. Meanwhile, the country, soul, and rock-influenced tracks like the gently bittersweet "I Waited Too Long" (originally a hit for LaVern Baker) and the livelier "If You Gotta Make a Fool of Somebody," "Hallelujah, I Love Him So," and "Should I Ever Love Again" still have a lot to offer modern ears, even if they're not among her all-time best work. "That's Right, Walk On By," however, is one of Yuro's brightest moments, and her version of "Fever" remains striking in its simplicity. Admirably, What's a Matter Baby doesn't feature one song after another that sounds like the hit single it supports, and it comes closer to being a full-fledged album than the works of many of her contemporaries. [The 2004 RPM reissue also features four bonus tracks, including 1962's "The Love of a Boy" and "I Ain't Gonna Cry No More" and the following year's "If I Never Get to Love You" and "Insult to Injury."] ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 What's a Matter Baby (Is It Hurting You) Timi Yuro 2:41
  3. 2 It's Too Soon to Know Timi Yuro 3:1
  4. 3 I Waited Too Long Timi Yuro 2:7
  5. 4 Fever Timi Yuro 3:3
  6. 5 Guess Who? Timi Yuro 2:52
  7. 6 Hallelujah, I Love Him So Timi Yuro 1:55
  8. 7 If You Gotta Make a Fool of Somebody Timi Yuro 1:53
  9. 8 For Your Love Timi Yuro 2:53
  10. 9 Should I Ever Love Again Timi Yuro 2:13
  11. 10 Only Love Me Timi Yuro 3:31
  12. 11 That's Right, Walk On By Timi Yuro 2:13
  13. 12 (The Night Time Is) The Right Time Timi Yuro 3:47
  14. 13 The Love of a Boy Timi Yuro 2:29
  15. 14 I Ain't Gonna Cry No More Timi Yuro 2:27
  16. 15 If I Never Get to Love You Timi Yuro 2:31
  17. 16 Insult to Injury Timi Yuro 2:20

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |