Slacker Logo

The Essential Toni Braxton

Toni Braxton 22/0/2007


The Essential Toni Braxton amounts to an expanded update of 2003's Ultimate Toni Braxton, nearly doubling the content and digging deeper into the discography of one of the biggest R&B artists of the '90s. With the exception of favoring the R. Kelly remix of "How Many Ways" over the original, this set retains Ultimate's core 15 tracks while wisely choosing to use the studio version of "Seven Whole Days" instead of a live take. Almost every song that touched a U.S. chart is included, such as the Top Ten R&B hits "Love Shoulda Brought You Home," "Another Sad Love Song," "You're Makin' Me High," "Un-Break My Heart," "Breathe Again," and "He Wasn't Man Enough." And while she has often been pigeonholed as an adult contemporary staple, the second disc adds the remixes of "He Wasn't Man Enough" and "Un-Break My Heart" (from Junior Vasquez and Frankie Knuckles, respectively) that solidified her club presence. (Un-Break My Heart: The Remix Collection compiles and mixes these and eight other club mixes.) Another pleasant surprise, tucked at the very end, is the inclusion of "Good Life," a 1990 single released by Toni and her four sisters as the Braxtons. If you want only the big hits, Ultimate will still do fine, but this set offers a more rounded and representative look back. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Love Shoulda Brought You Home Toni Braxton 4:52
  3. 2 I Love Me Some Him Toni Braxton 5:3
  4. 3 Tell Me Toni Braxton 4:8
  5. 4 You're Makin' Me High Toni Braxton 4:25
  6. 5 He Wasn't Man Enough Toni Braxton 4:22
  7. 6 Just Be a Man About It Toni Braxton 4:47
  8. 7 How Many Ways [R. Kelly Remix] Toni Braxton 5:43
  9. 8 Breathe Again Toni Braxton 4:28
  10. 9 You Mean the World to Me Toni Braxton 4:51
  11. 10 I Belong to You Toni Braxton 3:50
  12. 11 How Could an Angel Break My Heart Toni Braxton 4:19
  13. 12 Un-Break My Heart Toni Braxton 4:27
  14. 13 Another Sad Love Song Toni Braxton 4:58
  15. 14 Seven Whole Days Toni Braxton 6:14
  16. 15 I Don't Want To Toni Braxton 4:14
  17. 16 Give U My Heart Toni Braxton 3:59
  18. 1 The Heat Toni Braxton 3:29
  19. 2 Gimme Some Toni Braxton 4:1
  20. 3 There's No Me Without You Toni Braxton 4:19
  21. 4 Why Should I Care Toni Braxton 4:22
  22. 5 Spanish Guitar [Royal Garden's Flamenco Mix] Toni Braxton 4:33
  23. 6 I'm Still Breathing Toni Braxton 4:15
  24. 7 Me & My Boyfriend Toni Braxton 3:40
  25. 8 Give It Back Toni Braxton 3:35
  26. 9 The Time of Our Lives Toni Braxton 3:16
  27. 10 He Wasn't Man Enough [Junior Vasquez Marathon Mix] Toni Braxton 3:45
  28. 11 Un-Break My Heart Toni Braxton 4:20
  29. 12 Hit the Freeway Toni Braxton 3:48
  30. 13 Come on Over Here Toni Braxton 3:34
  31. 14 Let It Flow Toni Braxton 4:20
  32. 15 The Little Things Toni Braxton 4:30
  33. 16 Good Life [A Cappella Single Mix] Toni Braxton 4:14

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |