Slacker Logo

The Very Best of Tracy Lawrence



History may indeed be kinder to Tracy Lawrence than anyone thought. Sure, there are the eight million albums, and seven number one singles in the country charts, but while Garth Brooks and Clint Black are considered legends, Lawrence would seem to be forgotten by all but the most faithful. Truth is, Lawrence is a better -- and purer -- country singer than both put together. It seems that no less than an authority than Rhino Records, the gold standard in reissues, sees that too. This massive 21-cut collection documents his biggest selling years at Atlantic beginning with 1991's Sticks and Stones, and continues through his 2003 DreamWorks release Strong. The singles are all here, but it goes deeper than that. There are four cuts each from Sticks and Stones, Alibis, I See It Now, and Time Marches On. From 1991-1993, Lawrence was always near the top of the charts either with singles or albums. That's an excellent run. That the industry in Nashville moved away from neo-traditionalism and toward pop and rock has no bearing on the quality of his work; indeed, 2007's For the Love, released on the tiny Rocky Comfort imprint, stands with his best material. The time is right for this kind of retrospective, where listeners can encounter a modern version of a real country singer. In addition to more than an hour's worth of great music, Melinda Newman's liner notes are exhaustive and engaging, adding to the true definitive nature of this collection. ~ Thom Jurek
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Sticks and Stones Tracy Lawrence 3:34
  3. 2 Today's Lonely Fool Tracy Lawrence 3:48
  4. 3 Runnin' Behind Tracy Lawrence 2:50
  5. 4 Somebody Paints the Wall Tracy Lawrence 3:14
  6. 5 Alibis Tracy Lawrence 3:0
  7. 6 Can't Break It to My Heart Tracy Lawrence 2:51
  8. 7 My Second Home Tracy Lawrence 2:44
  9. 8 If the Good Die Young Tracy Lawrence 2:26
  10. 9 Renegades, Rebels and Rogues Tracy Lawrence 2:35
  11. 10 I See It Now Tracy Lawrence 3:35
  12. 11 As Any Fool Can See Tracy Lawrence 3:1
  13. 12 Texas Tornado Tracy Lawrence 3:25
  14. 13 If the World Had a Front Porch Tracy Lawrence 3:4
  15. 14 If You Loved Me Tracy Lawrence 3:19
  16. 15 Time Marches On Tracy Lawrence 3:0
  17. 16 Stars Over Texas Tracy Lawrence 3:32
  18. 17 Is That a Tear Tracy Lawrence 3:17
  19. 18 Better Man, Better Off Tracy Lawrence 3:32
  20. 19 How a Cowgirl Says Goodbye Tracy Lawrence 3:28
  21. 20 Lessons Learned Tracy Lawrence 2:56
  22. 21 Paint Me a Birmingham Tracy Lawrence 3:45

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |