Slacker Logo

Day After [Bonus Track]

Twista 10/17/2005


Picking up where 2004's Kamikaze left off, The Day After is heavy with R&B, slickness, and hooks. In other words, it's the kind of album the hardcore lovers of Adrenaline Rush are going to sneer at while the radio heads and clubbers go nuts for it. You could be cynical and say the album is Kamikaze all over again with Pharrell and the Neptunes replacing Kanye West for the singles, but if The Day After is a contrived attempt at going platinum again, it's an inspired one. With its smoother-than-smooth chorus courtesy of Trey Songz, "Girl Tonite" could melt the paint off the walls twice as fast as Kamikaze's "So Sexy." "When I Get You Home" with Jamie Foxx and Pharrell could be "Slow Jamz"'s little brother, but "I'm a Winner" tries a shade too hard to recapture "Overnight Celebrity"'s fire. The opening "The Day After" is the only other time the album sounds forced, as it tries to push and shove the listener into believing Twista is the same old thug he's always been. He's not, and winning tracks with Mariah Carey and Snoop, plus a successful nod to the reggaeton phenomenon with Pitbull, are arguments that he shouldn't be and that superstar collaborations are what he does best, at least for now. The thumping "Heartbeat" and the easy rolling "Chocolate Fe's and Redbones" are where the meat of the album lies, both marrying old-school Twista with new-school, platinum Twista. An album of those kind of tracks and he'd have a classic, but for now, you'll just have to settle for great singles, worthy filler, and a couple missteps. [A Japanese version added a bonus track.] ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 The Day After - Featuring Syleena Johnson Twista null:null
  3. 2 Check That H** Twista null:null
  4. 3 Chocolate Fe's and Redbones - Featuring Johneey P Twista null:null
  5. 4 Get It How You Live Twista null:null
  6. 5 Lavish - Featuring Pharrell Twista null:null
  7. 6 Girl Tonite - Featuring Trey Songz Twista null:null
  8. 7 Do Wrong - Featuring Lil' Kim Twista null:null
  9. 8 Heartbeat Twista null:null
  10. 9 Holding Down the Game Twista null:null
  11. 10 When I Get You Home - A.I.O.U. - Featuring Jamie Foxx & Pharrell Twista null:null
  12. 11 So Lonely Featuring Mariah Carey Twista null:null
  13. 12 Had to Call - Featuring Snoop Dogg & Sleepy Eyed Jones Twista null:null
  14. 13 Out Here - Featuring Juvenile & Speedknot Mobstaz Twista null:null
  15. 14 I'm a Winner Twista null:null
  16. 15 Hit That Floor - Featuring Pitbull Twista null:null
  17. 16 Glory Twista null:null

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |