Slacker Logo

The Very Best of UB40 1980-2000 [US]

UB40 11/21/2000


While the two previous Best of UB40 collections neatly divided the band's output between their more political early period and their later, covers-oriented pop success, they were also only ten tracks apiece. The Very Best of UB40 1980-2000 is the first comprehensive single-disc overview of the band's career, and it's a lot more generous at 18 tracks (on the American version). It isn't arranged chronologically, which actually helps the programming by splitting up the covers over the course of the running order. There's a bit more toughness to the earlier songs, both in the lyrics and the punchier performances. Yet in the end, the sonic differences are subtle enough that casual fans should still be able to enjoy them (unless they only want to hear the band performing reggae-pop versions of oldies they already know). Skimpy though it is, The Best of UB40, Vol. 1 is still the compilation for purists enamored of the band's early work, assuming they don't want to spend the money for the original albums. But with its fairly well-balanced selection and inclusion of all the band's U.S. hits, most American listeners who want a UB40 compilation will find The Very Best of UB40 1980-2000 exactly what they're looking for. [The import version juggles the track listing and running order a bit, excising a couple of Labour of Love II's American cover hits in favor of older songs and reggae covers of Jamaican origin. Also, the version of "Red Red Wine" is the shortened edit, without the toasting break at the end.] ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I Got You Babe [Cover] UB40 3:5
  3. 2 Here I Am (Come and Take Me) [Cover] UB40 4:0
  4. 3 Bring Me Your Cup [7 Version] UB40 4:6
  5. 4 One in Ten UB40 4:30
  6. 5 Red, Red Wine [Cover] UB40 3:0
  7. 6 Kingston Town UB40 3:47
  8. 7 If It Happens Again UB40 3:40
  9. 8 Don't Break My Heart UB40 3:48
  10. 9 Cherry Oh Baby [Cover] UB40 3:16
  11. 10 Can't Help Falling in Love [Cover] UB40 3:26
  12. 11 Higher Ground UB40 4:19
  13. 12 Tell Me Is It True UB40 3:22
  14. 13 Rat in Mi Kitchen UB40 3:2
  15. 14 Until My Dying Day UB40 3:51
  16. 15 The Way You Do the Things You Do UB40 3:0
  17. 16 Light My Fire UB40 3:45
  18. 17 Food for Thought UB40 4:6
  19. 18 Sing Our Own Song UB40 3:55

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |