Slacker Logo

'80s Soul Gold


Other albums by



Hip-O Records, the reissue arm of the major label Universal, often licenses tracks from other record companies to broaden the selections on its compilation albums. But in assembling '80s Soul Gold, an entry in Hip-O's discount-priced series of double-CD collections, compilation producer Harry Weinger must have felt that such borrowings were unnecessary. After all, Universal, a company formed by the merger of MCA and PolyGram, already has deep holdings in soul music, starting with the Motown catalog and including MCA itself, which was a big player on the R&B scene in the '80s. The 30-track album Weinger has compiled cannot be called a greatest soul hits of the decade exactly. It contains only three songs that were among Billboard magazine's 25 biggest R&B records of the '80s -- the Dazz Band's "Let It Whip," Smokey Robinson's "Being with You," and Rockwell's "Somebody's Watching Me." But it is hardly lacking in hits. Every track but one reached the R&B Top Ten (the exception, Billy Preston and Syreeta's "With You I'm Born Again," hit the Top Ten of the pop and adult contemporary charts), and 16 -- more than half -- went to number one. As such, the album provides a good sense of what R&B music sounded like in the decade. That sense is enhanced by Weinger's wise decision to sequence the album in roughly chronological order. The '80s was a transitional decade for R&B (as is every decade, come to think of it), and the beats that were moving listeners early on were replaced by other ones as time went on. By the end of the second disc, one can hear hip-hop coming on with the cutups and James Brown sampling of Vanessa Williams' "The Right Stuff" and the very '90s-like sound of Guy's "I Like," the final track. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I'm Coming Out Diana Ross 5:19
  3. 2 She's a Bad Mama Jama (She's Built, She's Stacked) Carl Carlton 3:54
  4. 3 Super Freak Rick James 3:21
  5. 4 Being with You Smokey Robinson 4:6
  6. 5 With You I'm Born Again Billy Preston 3:37
  7. 6 When She Was My Girl Four Tops 3:19
  8. 7 Let It Whip Dazz Band 4:23
  9. 8 Early in the Morning The Gap Band 3:55
  10. 9 Cutie Pie One Way Ride 5:24
  11. 10 All This Love DeBarge 5:51
  12. 11 Don't Look Any Further Dennis Edwards 4:1
  13. 12 Treat Her Like a Lady The Temptations 4:13
  14. 13 Mr. Telephone Man New Edition 3:57
  15. 14 Somebody's Watching Me Rockwell 3:55
  16. 15 Meeting in the Ladies Room Klymaxx 5:11
  17. 1 Nightshift Commodores 5:2
  18. 2 Cherish Kool & the Gang 5:38
  19. 3 Oh Sheila Ready for the World 4:0
  20. 4 Secret Lovers Atlantic Starr 4:21
  21. 5 Your Smile René & Angela 4:18
  22. 6 I Have Learned to Respect the Power of Love Stephanie Mills 3:52
  23. 7 You Should Be Mine (The Woo Woo Song) Jeffrey Osborne 4:16
  24. 8 Ain't Nothin' Going on But the Rent Gwen Guthrie 3:32
  25. 9 Candy Cameo 5:38
  26. 10 Looking for a New Love Jody Watley 3:58
  27. 11 Mercedes Boy Pebbles 3:53
  28. 12 Little Walter Tony! Toni! Toné! 4:48
  29. 13 The Right Stuff Vanessa Williams 4:25
  30. 14 My Prerogative Bobby Brown 4:33
  31. 15 I Like Guy 4:46

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |