Slacker Logo

The Collection [2010]

Whitney Houston 4/19/2010


Originally released in 2010 to coincide with her U.K. tour, but one of many albums to re-chart higher in the wake of her death, The Collection is a five-CD package which traces Whitney Houston's journey from clean-cut soul balladeer to world-conquering movie star to defiant R&B diva. Featuring the entirety of her first four studio albums, plus the huge-selling soundtrack to The Bodyguard (1996's The Preacher's Wife is ignored), this value-for-money release provides the chance to re-evaluate the surprisingly slim back catalog of a singer who was always seen as more of a singles artist than her superstar contemporaries. Which is rather unfair considering her sales in the '80s were almost as impressive as Madonna and Michael Jackson's, and while 1985's Whitney Houston and 1987's equally imaginatively titled Whitney contain their fair share of dated filler, "Saving All My Love for You," "Greatest Love of All," and "Where Do Broken Hearts Go?" undoubtedly set the benchmark for the epic power ballad, while "I Wanna Dance with Somebody," the Jellybean-penned "Love Will Save the Day," and the uplifting "How Will I Know?" showed she was equally adept at more uptempo fare. Despite the presence of Babyface, Stevie Wonder, and Luther Vandross, 1990's third effort, I'm Your Baby Tonight, lacked the spark of her earlier work, save for the title track, but Houston regained it for 1992 juggernaut The Bodyguard. The contributions from the likes of Lisa Stansfield, Joe Cocker, and Curtis Stigers have now become almost superfluous, but Whitney is virtually formidable, whether crooning through her signature hit, "I Will Always Love You," triumphantly tackling Chaka Khan's "I'm Every Woman," or belting out the hugely emotive "I Have Nothing." However, it was six years later when she delivered arguably her most cohesive and by far most enduring record. Sailing close to irrelevance following a rather turbulent and intermittent mid-'90s, My Love Is Your Love ranks as one of the greatest comebacks from a modern-day artist, effortlessly blending her more mature and restrained soulful tones with a contemporary yet fitting staccato R&B production (courtesy of the likes of Darkchild & Wyclef Jean), none more so than on the feisty "It's Not Right But It's Okay" and the slinky slow jam "Heartbreak Hotel." The various Greatest Hits may satisfy those only familiar with her number ones, but this is the perfect release for anyone wishing to investigate further. ~ Jon O'Brien
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 You Give Good Love Whitney Houston 4:33
  3. 2 Thinking About You Whitney Houston 5:21
  4. 3 Someone for Me Whitney Houston 4:56
  5. 4 Saving All My Love for You Whitney Houston 3:54
  6. 5 Nobody Loves Me Like You Do Whitney Houston 3:44
  7. 6 How Will I Know Whitney Houston 4:27
  8. 7 All at Once Whitney Houston 4:24
  9. 8 Take Good Care of My Heart Whitney Houston 4:11
  10. 9 The Greatest Love of All Whitney Houston 4:55
  11. 10 Hold Me Whitney Houston 5:58
  12. 1 I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me) Whitney Houston 4:47
  13. 2 Just the Lonely Talking Again Whitney Houston 5:20
  14. 3 Love Will Save the Day Whitney Houston 5:20
  15. 4 Didn't We Almost Have It All Whitney Houston 5:1
  16. 5 So Emotional Whitney Houston 4:29
  17. 6 Where You Are Whitney Houston 4:6
  18. 7 Love Is a Contact Sport Whitney Houston 4:11
  19. 8 You're Still My Man Whitney Houston 4:13
  20. 9 For the Love of You Whitney Houston 5:24
  21. 10 Where Do Broken Hearts Go Whitney Houston 4:33
  22. 11 I Know Him So Well Whitney Houston 4:26
  23. 1 I'm Your Baby Tonight Whitney Houston 4:9
  24. 2 My Name Is Not Susan Whitney Houston 4:34
  25. 3 All The Man That I Need Whitney Houston 4:4
  26. 4 Lover for Life Whitney Houston 4:42
  27. 5 Anymore Whitney Houston 4:19
  28. 6 Miracle Whitney Houston 5:40
  29. 7 I Belong To You Whitney Houston 5:26
  30. 8 Who Do You Love Whitney Houston 3:51
  31. 9 We Didn't Know Whitney Houston 5:27
  32. 10 After We Make Love Whitney Houston 5:2
  33. 11 I'm Knockin' Whitney Houston 4:52
  34. 12 You'll Never Stand Alone Whitney Houston 4:21
  35. 1 I Will Always Love You Whitney Houston 4:29
  36. 2 I Have Nothing Whitney Houston 4:47
  37. 3 I'm Every Woman Whitney Houston 4:44
  38. 4 Run to You Whitney Houston 4:20
  39. 5 Queen of the Night Whitney Houston 3:6
  40. 6 Jesus Loves Me Whitney Houston 5:10
  41. 7 Even If My Heart Would Break Whitney Houston 4:54
  42. 8 Someday (I'm Coming Back) Whitney Houston 4:54
  43. 9 It's Gonna Be a Lovely Day Whitney Houston 4:48
  44. 10 (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding Whitney Houston 4:2
  45. 11 Theme From The Bodyguard Alan Silvestri 2:41
  46. 12 Trust in Me Whitney Houston 4:10
  47. 13 Theme from the Bodyguard Whitney Houston 2:40
  48. 1 It's Not Right But It's Okay Whitney Houston 4:45
  49. 2 Heartbreak Hotel Whitney Houston 4:35
  50. 3 My Love Is Your Love Whitney Houston 4:19
  51. 4 When You Believe Whitney Houston 4:30
  52. 5 If I Told You That Whitney Houston 4:34
  53. 6 In My Business Whitney Houston 3:26
  54. 7 I Learned from the Best Whitney Houston 4:19
  55. 8 Oh Yes Whitney Houston 6:42
  56. 9 Get It Back Whitney Houston 4:49
  57. 10 Until You Come Back Whitney Houston 4:51
  58. 11 I Bow Out Whitney Houston 4:28
  59. 12 You'll Never Stand Alone Whitney Houston 4:19
  60. 13 I Was Made To Love Him Whitney Houston 4:24

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |