Slacker Logo

The Greatest Hits [UK]

Whitney Houston 5/16/2000


Although Whitney Houston's The Greatest Hits is a double-disc package, only the first disc is packed with original versions of Houston's hit singles; the second disc also collects remixes new and old for hardcore fans. Of course, it would be impossible to fit all of Houston's 20-plus chart singles onto one disc, but that format still could have produced a fantastic and near-definitive collection. That is, if Arista hadn't made the ridiculous choice not to include four number one hits: "How Will I Know," "So Emotional," "I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)," and "I'm Your Baby Tonight." Granted, those songs are all present on "The Greatest Remixes," but anyone wanting the original versions will have to purchase the three different albums they appeared on. That said, the compilation does do fans a few favors; there are three new tracks, including one duet apiece with Deborah Cox and Enrique Iglesias, and two hits make their first appearance on a Houston album: "One Moment in Time" (the 1988 Olympic theme) and "If You Say My Eyes Are Beautiful," a 1986 duet with Jermaine Jackson. Houston's Top 20 hit recording of "The Star-Spangled Banner," performed at Super Bowl XXV during the Gulf War, is tacked onto the remix disc as well. The Greatest Hits disc amply reinforces what a fine singles artist Houston has been for the entirety of her career. Overall, though, it's a frustrating package marred by record company greed -- not only because of the glaring and intentional omissions, but also because casual fans won't appreciate paying double the money for a remix disc they probably aren't interested in owning. [The U.K. release changes around the track order, cuts "Why Does It Hurt So Bad" and "The Star Spangled Banner," and adds remixes of "It's Not Right but It's Okay" and "I'm Your Baby Tonight" as well as "Count on Me" and "I'm Every Woman."] ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Saving All My Love for You Whitney Houston 3:57
  3. 2 Greatest Love of All Whitney Houston 4:51
  4. 3 One Moment in Time Whitney Houston 4:46
  5. 4 I Have Nothing Whitney Houston 4:51
  6. 5 I Will Always Love You Whitney Houston 4:27
  7. 6 Run to You Whitney Houston 4:20
  8. 7 You Give Good Love Whitney Houston 4:11
  9. 8 All at Once Whitney Houston 4:30
  10. 9 Where Do Broken Hearts Go Whitney Houston 4:37
  11. 10 If You Say My Eyes Are Beautiful Whitney Houston 4:20
  12. 11 Didn't We Almost Have It All Whitney Houston 4:37
  13. 12 All the Man That I Need Whitney Houston 3:56
  14. 13 Exhale (Shoop Shoop) Whitney Houston 3:25
  15. 14 Count on Me Whitney Houston 4:24
  16. 15 I Believe in You and Me Whitney Houston 3:55
  17. 16 I Learned from the Best Whitney Houston 4:23
  18. 17 Same Script, Different Cast Whitney Houston 5:0
  19. 18 Could I Have This Kiss Forever Whitney Houston 3:54
  20. 1 If I Told You That Whitney Houston 4:32
  21. 2 Fine Whitney Houston 3:34
  22. 3 My Love Is Your Love Whitney Houston 4:18
  23. 4 It's Not Right But It's Okay Whitney Houston 4:49
  24. 5 Heartbreak Hotel Whitney Houston 4:35
  25. 6 Step by Step Whitney Houston 4:11
  26. 7 Queen of the Night [CJ Mackintosh Mix] Whitney Houston 3:46
  27. 8 I'm Every Woman [Cover] Whitney Houston 4:44
  28. 9 Love Will Save the Day Whitney Houston 5:21
  29. 10 I'm Your Baby Tonight Whitney Houston 4:58
  30. 11 So Emotional Whitney Houston 4:32
  31. 12 I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me) Whitney Houston 4:49
  32. 13 How Will I Know Whitney Houston 4:33
  33. 14 I Will Always Love You [Hex Hector Mix] Whitney Houston 4:52
  34. 15 Greatest Love of All [Club 69 Mix] Whitney Houston 4:43
  35. 16 It's Not Right But It's Okay [Thinderpuss Mix] Whitney Houston 4:16
  36. 17 I'm Your Baby Tonight [Drones Mix] Whitney Houston 5:4

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |