Slacker Logo

Essential Willie Nelson [Bonus Tracks]

Willie Nelson 10/16/2015


Willie Nelson recorded for many labels during the course of his lengthy career, but his greatest commercial success arrived during his time on Columbia during the late '70s and early '80s, which is one of the reasons that the career-spanning double-disc collection The Essential Willie Nelson appeared on Columbia/Legacy in 2003. The other reason, of course, is that during the first part of the 2000s, Legacy had been turning out cross-licensed, multi-label compilations of artists who hopped around from label to label or had unwieldy careers. Willie is a perfect example of this, as he had five significant stays at labels (in chronological order: Liberty, RCA, Atlantic, Columbia, Island), surrounded by a bunch of detours to independent labels, or duets never featured on his official records, all of which makes the task of assembling a concise, definitive collection a difficult one. With its 41 tracks, spanning nearly 40 years of recording, The Essential Willie Nelson gets about as close as a set could to providing the basics. That doesn't mean that it's perfect, of course. It naturally relies heavily on the Columbia recordings, since it was both his popular peak and the label that released this collection, with 25 of the tracks dating from this era. To a certain extent, this shortchanges the brilliant Atlantic records Shotgun Willie and Phases and Stages, as well as his fascinatingly erratic RCA recordings (found in their entirety on the Bear Family box Nashville Was the Roughest), but it's also true that the entire first disc, which runs from "Night Life" and "Hello Walls" through "Me and Paul" and "Bloody Mary Morning," all the way to Stardust, has a great momentum and summarizes this transition very well. The second disc picks up this thread well for the first 12 songs or so, covering Honeysuckle Rose and "Always on My Mind," along with some duets ("Pancho & Lefty" with Merle Haggard, "To All the Girls I've Loved Before" with Julio Iglesias) before it loses steam as it approaches the mid-'80s -- not so coincidentally, precisely the time that Willie's career was briefly derailed in a dispute with the IRS. From here on out, the compilation relies too heavily on idiosyncratic selections (partially because he stopped having hits, making selection a matter of picking fan favorites) and duets, including the rarities "Slow Dancing" and "One Time Too Many," where Willie is backed by U2 and Aerosmith, respectively, giving the very end of this collection an inappropriately sour aftertaste. These are minor problems, since the overall collection is as generous as Willie Nelson's music itself and it will likely satisfy the needs of most listeners wanting only one disc in their collection. [A 2015 CD re-release added four bonus tracks.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Night Life Willie Nelson 2:29
  3. 2 Hello Walls Willie Nelson 2:22
  4. 3 Crazy Willie Nelson 2:50
  5. 4 Funny How Time Slips Away Willie Nelson 3:0
  6. 5 The Party's Over Willie Nelson 2:24
  7. 6 I Gotta Get Drunk Willie Nelson 2:13
  8. 7 Yesterday's Wine Willie Nelson 3:11
  9. 8 Me and Paul Willie Nelson 3:46
  10. 9 Family Bible Willie Nelson 3:10
  11. 10 Bloody Mary Morning Willie Nelson 2:46
  12. 11 Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain Willie Nelson 2:18
  13. 12 Good Hearted Woman Willie Nelson 2:54
  14. 13 If You've Got the Money I've Got the Time Willie Nelson 2:3
  15. 14 Uncloudy Day Willie Nelson 4:38
  16. 15 Mammas, Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys Willie Nelson 2:30
  17. 16 Georgia on My Mind Willie Nelson 4:17
  18. 17 Blue Skies Willie Nelson 3:32
  19. 18 Heartbreak Hotel Willie Nelson 2:58
  20. 19 Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again) Willie Nelson 5:48
  21. 20 My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys Willie Nelson 3:2
  22. 21 Faded Love Willie Nelson 3:47
  23. 22 Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground Willie Nelson 4:26
  24. 23 Whiskey River [Live] Willie Nelson 3:31
  25. 1 On the Road Again Willie Nelson 2:32
  26. 2 Always on My Mind Willie Nelson 3:28
  27. 3 Pancho and Lefty Willie Nelson 4:44
  28. 4 To All the Girls I've Loved Before Willie Nelson 3:29
  29. 5 City of New Orleans Willie Nelson 4:48
  30. 6 Seven Spanish Angels Willie Nelson 3:45
  31. 7 Forgiving You Was Easy Willie Nelson 2:46
  32. 8 Highwayman Willie Nelson 3:0
  33. 9 Living in the Promiseland Willie Nelson 3:19
  34. 10 The End of Understanding Willie Nelson 2:41
  35. 11 Across the Borderline Willie Nelson 4:38
  36. 12 Still Is Still Moving to Me Willie Nelson 3:29
  37. 13 I Never Cared for You Willie Nelson 2:18
  38. 14 Just Breathe Willie Nelson 4:0
  39. 15 I Wish I Didn't Love You So Willie Nelson 4:17
  40. 16 From Here to the Moon and Back Willie Nelson 4:0
  41. 17 The Wall Willie Nelson 3:27
  42. 18 Band of Brothers Willie Nelson 2:49
  43. 19 Who'll Buy My Memories? Willie Nelson 2:44
  44. 20 Unfair Weather Friend Willie Nelson 4:12
  45. 21 It's All Going to Pot Willie Nelson 2:55
  46. 22 Roll Me Up Willie Nelson 3:24

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |