Slacker Logo

Greatest Hits (& Some That Will Be) [Bonus Tracks]

Willie Nelson 10/21/2003


Greatest Hits (& Some That Will Be) was released in the fall of 1981, summarizing a remarkable seven-year stretch of extraordinary success that began when the iconoclastic Red Headed Stranger, Willie Nelson's first album for Columbia, which became a smash hit not long after its 1975 release. From that point on, Nelson became an American popular music icon and a fixture at the top of the country charts, something that was all the more remarkable because he rarely played it safe: he sang pop standards, jammed like the Grateful Dead, recorded tributes to heroes like Lefty Frizzell, and did duet albums with both mentor Ray Price, and fellow maverick Leon Russell. It was a far-ranging, unpredictable body of work, with each individual album retaining its own distinctive character, and Greatest Hits manages to pull off the nifty trick of making sense of these records in two records (now one CD) and 20 songs. Sequenced like a set list, not according to strict chronological order, the collection manages to hit all the major singles, but does so judiciously, making sure each of the records and musical moods get equal pay. So, there is no overdose of Stardust material, and even album tracks like a moving version of "Look What Thoughts Will Do" get a hearing. Consequently, this Greatest Hits is far more than a mere recitation of familiar items. It is something much better -- a rounded, full-bodied portrait of Nelson in all of his idiosyncratic splendor, which is about as much as could be asked from a hits collection. And that's why it's worth having, not just as an introduction, but just as a splendid listen on its own terms. [This version of the album includes bonus material.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Railroad Lady [Unplugged][Cover] Willie Nelson 2:40
  3. 2 Heartaches of a Fool Willie Nelson 2:27
  4. 3 Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain [Cover] Willie Nelson 2:18
  5. 4 Whiskey River [Cover] Willie Nelson 3:31
  6. 5 Good Hearted Woman Willie Nelson 2:51
  7. 6 Georgia on My Mind [Unplugged][Cover] Willie Nelson 4:19
  8. 7 All of Me Willie Nelson 3:53
  9. 8 If You've Got the Money (I've Got the Time) [Unplugged][Cover] Willie Nelson 2:3
  10. 9 Look What Thoughts Will Do [Unplugged][Cover] Willie Nelson 2:44
  11. 10 Remember Me (When the Candlelights Are Gleaming) Willie Nelson 2:49
  12. 11 Uncloudy Day Willie Nelson 4:39
  13. 12 Mamas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys Willie Nelson 3:23
  14. 13 My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys Willie Nelson 3:2
  15. 14 Help Me Make It Through the Night Willie Nelson 3:57
  16. 15 Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground Willie Nelson 4:27
  17. 16 I'd Have to Be Crazy Willie Nelson 3:24
  18. 17 Faded Love Willie Nelson 3:47
  19. 18 On the Road Again Willie Nelson 2:32
  20. 19 Midnight Rider Willie Nelson 2:48
  21. 20 Heartbreak Hotel Willie Nelson 2:58
  22. 21 If You Could Touch Her at All [Cover] Willie Nelson 3:26
  23. 22 Till I Gain Control Again Willie Nelson 5:50
  24. 23 Stay All Night (Stay a Little Longer) Willie Nelson 3:24

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |