Slacker Logo

Welcome Home

Zac Brown Band 5/12/2017


Welcome Home is a telling title for the fifth album by the Zac Brown Band. It's a statement of comfort from the ZBB, letting fans who found the genre-bending experiments of the 2015 set Jekyll + Hyde disquieting know that the group has gotten back to basics. Such reassurances aren't limited to the record's name, either. Welcome Home begins with an ode to the Zac Brown Band's "Roots," before they tell listeners that they're the "Real Thing" in for the "Long Haul" -- and that's all within the first three songs! All of these proclamations of authenticity are set to the ZBB's trademark mellow vibe, a signature anchored in the smooth sounds of the '70s. The band whittles away any tendency toward jamming or adventures, so Welcome Home rolls easy, its gait quickening only when he revives the breezy beachside sway of "Toes" on "Start Over." Even that title offers something of an implicit promise to fans tempted to stray: the ZBB know they've roamed far from home, but they've returned and are ready to begin again. The sound of Welcome Home is a warm, comfortable bath. Brown still has a way with a honeyed melody and his band is just as supple, meaning this album is the very definition of music as comfort food. Coziness certainly has its appeal -- it works as a balm and a tonic. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Roots Zac Brown Band 3:47
  3. 2 Real Thing Zac Brown Band 3:48
  4. 3 Long Haul Zac Brown Band 3:28
  5. 4 2 Places at 1 Time Zac Brown Band 3:38
  6. 5 Family Table Zac Brown Band 3:27
  7. 6 My Old Man Zac Brown Band 3:43
  8. 7 Start Over Zac Brown Band 4:9
  9. 8 Your Majesty Zac Brown Band 3:37
  10. 9 Trying to Drive Zac Brown Band 4:23
  11. 10 All The Best Zac Brown Band 4:9

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |