Slacker Logo




American rock quintet 311 fused reggae, hip-hop, funk, and metal in a rhythmic blend that carried them from the rap-rock boom of the '90s and into the 2000s as a veteran mainstay with a devoted fan base. The band was formed in 1990 in Omaha, Nebraska, by singer/guitarist Nick Hexum, DJ/singer Doug "S.A." Martinez, guitarist Tim Mahoney, drummer Chad Sexton, and bassist Aaron "P-Nut" Wills. Taking their name from the Omaha Police Department's code for indecent exposure, the quintet began performing locally and soon moved to Los Angeles, signing with Capricorn Records in 1991. 311 then translated their regional success into national recognition with several key albums, including 1992's Music, 1993's Grassroots, and 1995's eponymous 311 (aka The Blue Album), the latter of which reached number 12 on the Billboard 200, sold three million copies in the U.S., and sported the hit tracks "All Mixed Up" and "Down." In 1996, following a year of nonstop touring in support of 311, the band released Enlarged to Show Detail, a home video of live performances taken from amphitheater shows in Kansas City and Denver. Transistor, a double album of new songs sandwiched onto one CD, arrived one year later and prompted the group's most ambitious tour yet. The effort quickly achieved platinum status, and the resulting show dates provided ample material for Live, which was released in 1998 and captured the band's strength on stage. A year later, 311 returned with Soundsystem before jumping to the Volcano label for the release of From Chaos, which appeared in summer 2001 and featured their hit, "Amber." Evolver arrived two years later; unlike its predecessors, however, the album failed to go gold or platinum. At that point, 311 had been together over ten years and the band celebrated its decade-plus existence with the Greatest Hits compilation. Released in July 2004, the album included all of 311's hit singles, several new tracks, and the band's reggae-tinged cover of the Cure's "Love Song," which had originally appeared on the soundtrack to the Adam Sandler film 50 First Dates. In August 2005, the group issued their eighth LP, Don't Tread on Me, which peaked at number five on the Billboard 200 and was followed by an additional round of touring. Upon its completion, the road-weary musicians took a hiatus, their first break in nearly a decade. 311 soon returned to the studio, however, this time partnering with producer Bob Rock. Heralded by frontman Nick Hexum as "the heaviest 311 has ever been," the resulting Uplifter arrived in 2009. That album shot to number three on the Billboard charts, the band's highest showing to date. Rock returned to the helm in 2011 for the band's tenth studio album, Universal Pulse, which was the band's first indie release. On March 11, 2014, 311 self-released their 11th studio effort, the Scott "Scotch" Ralston-produced and independently released Stereolithic. A live album and four-disc Archive set filled the time until album number 12, which arrived in the summer of 2017. Produced by Ralston and John Feldmann (Goldfinger, blink-182), the 17-track Mosaic featured the singles "Too Late" and "Too Much to Think." While on tour promoting the album with the Offspring, 311 recorded a cover of their tourmates' "Self-Esteem" (while the Offspring took a swing at 311's "Down"), their only output for 2018. The following year, they returned with 13th set, Voyager. Released in the summer of 2019, the set was produced by Ralston and Feldmann, with additional contributions by British electronic producer Matan Zohar on the single "Don't You Worry." ~ Cub Koda & Neil Z. Yeung
Read All Read Less


See Fewer Albums

Top Tracks

  1.   Track
  2.   All Mixed Up
  3.   Down
  4.   Come Original
  5.   Love Song
  6.   Amber
  7.   Don't Stay Home
  8.   Beautiful Disaster
  9.   Transistor
  10.   Too Much to Think
  11.   I'll Be Here Awhile
  12.   First Straw
  13.   Do You Right
  14.   Random
  15.   Salsa
  16.   Into the Flame
  17.   Grassroots
  18.   Who's Got the Herb?
  19.   Don't Tread on Me
  20.   Stainless
  21.   Crossfire
  22.   Lucid Dreams
  23.   Sunset in July
  24.   Space and Time
  25.   Get Down
  26.   Good Feeling
  27.   Use of Time
  28.   Nix Hex
  29.   Dodging Raindrops
  30.   Beyond the Gray Sky
  31.   Homebrew
  32.   Champagne
  33.   Creatures (For a While)
  34.   Paradise
  35.   Born to Live
  36.   Better Space
  37.   Dream State
  38.   What the?!
  39.   Don't You Worry
  40.   Wildfire
  41.   Dancehall
  42.   Transistor Intro
  43.   First Dimension
  44.   Time Bomb
  45.   Sometimes Jacks Rule the Realm
  46.   Freak Out
  47.   Rolling Through
  48.   Sun Come Through
  49.   Too Much Too Fast
  50.   India Ink
  51.   Other Side of Things
  52.   Fat Chance
  53.   Visit
  54.   Eons
  55.   Flowing
  56.   Purpose
  57.   Jupiter
  58.   Creature Feature
  59.   One and the Same
  60.   Forever Now
  61.   Seal the Deal
  62.   Space Funk
  63.   Made in the Shade
  64.   Trouble
  65.   Daisy Cutter
  66.   Reggae Got Soul
  67.   Frolic Room
  68.   Give Me a Call
  69.   Full Ride
  70.   8:16 A.M.
  71.   Plain
  72.   My Stoney Baby
  73.   Unity
  74.   Welcome
  75.   Leaving Babylon
  76.   Strong All Along
  77.   T & P Combo
  78.   Sweet
  79.   Guns (Are For Pussies)
  80.   Hive
  81.   Feels So Good
  82.   Tribute
  83.   Light Years
  84.   Electricity
  85.   Starshines
  86.   Hydroponic
  87.   Charge It Up
  88.   Days of '88
  89.   Places That the Mind Goes
  90.   Hey Yo
  91.   'Til the City's on Fire
  92.   Island Sun
  93.   Simplify
  94.   Next
  95.   How Long Has It Been
  96.   Will the World
  97.   Existential Hero
  98.   Friday Afternoon
  99.   The Great Divide
  100.   Boom Shanka
  101.   Sand Dollars
  102.   Revelation of the Year
  103.   Rock On
  104.   What Do You Do
  105.   I Like the Way
  106.   It's Getting OK Now
  107.   Long for the Flowers
  108.   Solar Flare
  109.   Still Dreaming
  110.   You Wouldn't Believe
  111.   1, 2, 3
  112.   Offbeat Bare Ass
  113.   Six
  114.   Lose
  115.   Taiyed
  116.   Livin' & Rockin'
  117.   Life's Not a Race
  118.   Large in the Margin
  119.   Dlmd
  120.   Brodels
  121.   Loco
  122.   Omaha Stylee
  123.   Applied Science
  124.   Misdirected Hostility
  125.   Running
  126.   No Control
  127.   The Continuous Life
  128.   Prisoner
  129.   Stealing Happy Hours
  130.   Tune In
  131.   Uncalm
  132.   Nutsymptom
  133.   On a Roll
  134.   Face in the Wind
  135.   Extension
  136.   The Night Is Young
  137.   Perfect Mistake
  138.   Livin N' Rockin
  139.   Week of Saturdays
  140.   Stealing My Girl
  141.   Lemming
  142.   Grifter
  143.   Dreamland
  144.   Tranquility
  145.   Simple True
  146.   Showdown
  147.   Ebb and Flow
  148.   Five of Everything
  149.   Wild Nights
  150.   Count Me In
  151.   Two Drops in the Ocean
  152.   Something Out of Nothing
  153.   Never Ending Summer
  154.   My Heart Sings
  155.   Mix It Up
  156.   Jackpot
  157.   Firewater
  158.   There's Always an Excuse
  159.   Getting Through to Her
  160.   Waiting
  161.   Speak Easy
  162.   Thank Your Lucky Stars
  163.   Summer of Love
  164.   Cali Soca
  165.   How Do You Feel?
  166.   Don't Dwell
  167.   Seems Uncertain
  168.   Reconsider Everything