Slacker Logo

Aaron Watson



An independent-minded singer and songwriter in the Texas honky tonk tradition, Aaron Watson plays country music with a traditional feel but a young man's energy, and has earned a loyal fan following in the Lone Star State. Born in Amarillo, Texas, Watson's earliest musical influences were the gospel hymns he sang in church with his family and the classic country records by George Jones, Merle Haggard, and Willie Nelson his folks played around the house. Watson began writing and singing his own songs while he was a student at Abilene Christian University, and after graduating he became a regular fixture on the Texas honky tonk circuit. In 2002 Watson released his first album, Shutupanddance, which was a major success in Texas, spawning the hit singles "Off the Record," "I Don't Want You to Go (But I Need You to Leave)," and the title tune. The album also earned him airplay and media attention nationwide, and Watson followed up his debut in 2004 with The Honky Tonk Kid, which was produced by Ray Benson of Asleep at the Wheel and featured guest vocals from Watson's hero, Willie Nelson. Watson and his band the Orphans of the Brazos captured their energetic live set on tape with their 2005 release Live at the Texas Hall of Fame, and Watson returned to the studio in 2006 for his fourth album, San Angelo. In 2008, Watson began transforming his sound -- albeit subtly and without leaving his Texas roots behind -- toward a more contemporary country radio-friendly approach on the reflective Angels & Outlaws. In 2010 he released The Road & the Rodeo, returning to more uptempo material, while smoothing his edges further. The result was more airplay, higher-profile touring engagements, and charting inside Billboard's Top 200. Watson's success continued to grow with 2012's Real Good Time, which rose to number nine on the Billboard Country Albums chart and cracked the Top 20 of the Independent Albums survey. And Watson scored a major breakthrough with 2015's The Underdog. Belying the album's title, The Underdog (produced by Keith Stegall, who also worked with George Jones and Alan Jackson) made its debut on the Billboard Country Albums chart at number one, the first time a male artist on an independent label had topped the chart in his first week. "That Look," a single drawn from the album, also hit the Country Airplay chart, topping out at 47, and another, "Getaway Truck," was a radio hit in Watson's native Texas. The hard-working Watson did plenty of touring in support of the album, playing 148 shows in 2015. He regrouped in 2016 and returned in early 2017 with Vaquero, notching another hit in "Outta Style" and rising to number two on the Top Country Albums Chart. ~ Mark Deming
Read All Read Less

Top Tracks

  1.   Track
  2.   Santa Claus Is Coming to Town featuring Jack Watson
  3.   That Look
  4.   Outta Style
  5.   Freight Train
  6.   Raise Your Bottle
  7.   Leather & Lace by Elizabeth Cook
  8.   Run Wild Horses
  9.   Lips
  10.   These Old Boots Have Roots
  11.   Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer by Jake Watson
  12.   Baby It's Cold Outside by Kimberly Watson
  13.   Jingle Bells by Kimberly Watson
  14.   Lonely Lonestar Christmas
  15.   Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Watson Family Greeting)
  16.   Fence Post
  17.   Bluebonnets (Julia's Song)
  18.   Getaway Truck
  19.   3rd Gear & 17
  20.   Reckless
  21.   Barbed Wire Halo
  22.   They Don't Make 'Em Like They Used To
  23.   Rollercoaster Ride
  24.   July in Cheyenne
  25.   Off the Record
  26.   Amen Amigo
  27.   East Bound and Down
  28.   Rolling Stone
  29.   The Prayer
  30.   I'm a Memory
  31.   The Right Place
  32.   The Christmas Waltz
  33.   Diamonds and Daughters
  34.   The Arrow
  35.   Vaquero
  36.   Texas Lullaby
  37.   That's Gonna Leave a Mark
  38.   Off the Record
  39.   Summertime Girl
  40.   That's What I Like About a Country Song
  41.   Angels & Outlaws
  42.   Nobody's Crying But the Baby
  43.   Blame It on Me
  44.   Haunted House
  45.   Next to Heaven
  46.   Sweet Contradiction
  47.   Tulsa
  48.   All American Country Girl
  49.   Wind Star by Charlie Wayne
  50.   I Don't Want You to Go (When All Those Aggies Move to Austin)
  51.   Christmas Time Is Here featuring Jack Reading Luke
  52.   Silent Night
  53.   She Stared at Him All Night
  54.   Higher Ground
  55.   Mariano's Dream
  56.   Be My Girl
  57.   Big Love in a Small Town
  58.   Blame It on Those Baby Blues
  59.   That's Why God Loves Cowboys
  60.   Farther Along (with Kina Lankford)
  61.   John 8:12 (reading by Billy Joe Shaver)
  62.   Texas Boys featuring Josh Abbott
  63.   Cadillac Cowboy by Justin McBride
  64.   Hey Y'All
  65.   Fish
  66.   Turn Around
  67.   Nothing But The Blood
  68.   Where The River Flows
  69.   Sonshine
  70.   I Met Jesus In A Bar
  71.   Fast Cars Slow Kisses
  72.   Electric Indian by Charlie Wayne
  73.   Language of Love
  74.   Still Fiddlin' Around
  75.   There Goes My Cowgirl
  76.   Escept for Jessie
  77.   Dancin' Shoes
  78.   Wake Up & Smell the Coffee
  79.   Except for Jessie
  80.   San Angelo
  81.   In Harm's Way
  82.   Heyday Tonight
  83.   Thanks a Lot
  84.   Diesel Drivin' Daddy
  85.   If You're Not in Love (Foggy Mountain Breakdown)
  86.   The Honky Tonk Kid
  87.   Wish I Could Say I'd Been Drinking
  88.   Stuck Between a Rock and a Heartache
  89.   The Notel Motel
  90.   Hollywood
  91.   Amazing Grace (with Kina Lankford)
  92.   What She Doesn't Know
  93.   Heaven Help the Heart
  94.   Run Wild Horses
  95.   One Two Step at a Time
  96.   Clear Isabel
  97.   Rodeo Queen
  98.   Family Tree
  99.   Wildfire
  100.   Romans 7:24-25 (reading by Billy Joe Shaver)
  101.   Old Chunk Of Coal
  102.   Drivin' All Night Long
  103.   Conflict
  104.   The Blue Flute by Charlie Wayne
  105.   Horses in the Sky by Charlie Wayne
  106.   Fancy Dancer's Song by Charlie Wayne
  107.   Carolina by Charlie Wayne
  108.   Thank God For Country Girls
  109.   When All Theses Aggies Move to Austin
  110.   On the Losing End
  111.   Strong Arm of the Law
  112.   Just a Call
  113.   Old Man Walker's Property
  114.   What's Her Name
  115.   The Fighting Side of Me
  116.   Bob Willis Is Still the King
  117.   Hearts Are Breaking Across Texas
  118.   Can't Be a Cowboy Forever
  119.   Breaker Breaker One Nine
  120.   Love Makin' Song
  121.   Unbelievably Beautiful
  122.   True Love Ways
  123.   Songs About Saturday Night
  124.   Intro
  125.   Mackenzie Park
  126.   Honky Tonkin' Around Texas
  127.   Something With a Swing to It
  128.   Shut Up and Dance
  129.   Some Never Will
  130.   Lonely Lubbock Lights
  131.   Show Her That You Love Her
  132.   One of Your Nights
  133.   Zero to Sixty
  134.   Let's Lose Some Sleep Tonight
  135.   Bullets and Arrows by Charlie Wayne
  136.   Road & the Rodeo
  137.   Butterflies and Bumblebees by Charlie Wayne
  138.   Just Married
  139.   Silver Wings
  140.   A Turquoise Guitar by Charlie Wayne
  141.   Wrangler Butts
  142.   The Underdog
  143.   Blue Skies
  144.   Nowhere Fast
  145.   I've Always Loved You
  146.   Walls
  147.   The Things You'll Do
  148.   Houston
  149.   High Price of Fame
  150.   Bless Her Crazy Heart
  151.   Best for Last
  152.   After the Rodeo
  153.   Amarillo Fair
  154.   Tonight's Ceremony by Charlie Wayne
  155.   Somewhere in the Desert by Charlie Wayne
  156.   Red Dusk by Charlie Wayne
  157.   Lover's Dream by Charlie Wayne
  158.   If Hendrix Had a Flute by Charlie Wayne
  159.   Going to Texas
  160.   Every Time I Hear These Songs
  161.   The Road
  162.   Thanks for Freedom